IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TENNESSEE
AT NASHVILLE

IN RE: NEW CERTIFICATIONS FOR
ATTORNEY SPECIALISTS

No.

S’ N N N

Petition to Approve Certifications

The Tennessee Commission on Continuing Legal Education and Specialization
(the “Commission”) hereby petitions the Supreme Court of Tennessee to approve the
following certification programs:

e Social Security Disablity Law
¢ Juvenile Law — Child Welfare
e DUI Defense

In support of this Petition, the Commission would show as follows:
1. Rule 21, §10.04 provides as follows:

10.04 Prior to implementation of any certification program, the
Commission shall file with the Supreme Court and publish to the attorneys
of Tennessee the complete certification standards proposed for that
program. For 90 days after such publication, any person or entity desiring
to do so may file comments on the proposed certification program with the
Supreme Court and a copy with the Commission. The proposed
certification program shall be effective upon entry by the Supreme Court
of an Order approving the program either as submitted by the Commission
or with any modifications set forth in the Order.

2. The Commission is required to implement this program in a manner which will
minimize the administrative costs associated with the program while insuring that
all such costs are covered by funds generated by applicants for certification and
certified specialists (§10.02)

3. To date, the Commission has proposed to the Court and the Court has approved
only those certification program accredited by the American Bar Association
Standing Committee on Specialization. All programs accredited by the ABA
have also been approved in Tennessee with the exception of the three programs



proposed in this Petition. The 11 programs already approved (with the number of
certified Tennessee specialists in parentenses are Business Bankruptcy (17),
Consumer Bankruptcy (35), Creditors Rights (7), Accounting Malpractice (1),
Legal Malpractice (0), Medical Malpractice (10), Estate Planning (22), Civil Trial
(186), Criminal Trial (23), Family Law (8), and Elder Law (13).

. The standards approved by the ABA House of Delegates and applied by the ABA
Standing Committee require the Committee, among other things, to ascertain that
the certifying organization’s purpose, organizational capabilities, and decision
makers are appropriate and sufficient for the certification of attorney’s as
specialists in the proposed area. The Committee must also ascertain that the
certification standards will be applied without discrimination on the basis of race,
religion, gender, sexual orientation, disability or age. The defined specialty area
must be generally understandable by potential users of legal services in that area
and there must be a significant number of attorneys practicing in the defined area.
The certification must require a substantial portion of the attorney’s practice to be
in the defined area, and must include a written examination of the attorney’s
knowledge of that field of law. The attorney must pass peer review, and have at
least 36 hours of Continuing Legal Education (CLE) in the defined area over the
preceding three years. The full set of standards applied by the ABA Standing
Committee are available at:
http://www.abanet.org/legalservices/specialization/standard.html]#43

. When a certifying organization applies for accreditation from the ABA, the
Standing Committee appoints a Review Panel and an Exam Reviewer to ascertain
compliance with all aspects of the ABA standards. David N. Shearon, Executive
Director of the Commission, currently serves on the ABA Standing Committee
and has served on several such review panels. The panels and the Standing
Committee are thorough and rigorous in their review of applications under the
standards.

. The standards for certification as approved by the American Bar Association
Standing Committee on Specialization and the House of Delegates for each of
these certifications may be found at:

Social Security
Not currently available online.
(Copy attached as Exhibit 1, p. 4.)

Juvenile Law — Child Welfare
http://www.naccchildlaw.org/training/certification.html
(Copy attached as Exhibit 2, p. 7.)

DUI Defense
http://www.ncdd.com/dsp certification.cfm
(Copy attached as Exhibit 3, p. 12.)




7. Rule 21, §10, requires some things from certified specialists in Tennessee which
are rarely, if ever, required by the national programs. These include malpractice
insurance in a minimum amount of $500,000, an additional and sometimes more
thorough ethics background check, client referral letters, and completion of a law
practice management checklist. Therefore, as it has done for the other
certifications it administers, the Commission has developed Certification
Standards for each of these certifications. These standards take as their base the
standards established by each national certifying organization and add those
components required in Tennessee but not included in the national program. The
Certification Standards adopted by the Commission for Social Security are
attached as Exhibit 4, p. 25, those for Juvenile Law — Child Welfare as Exhibit 5,
p. 28, and those for DUI Defense as Exhibit 6 p. 31.

Wherefore, the Commission petitions this Court for an Order approving certification
programs in Tennessee as set forth in the attached Certification Standards.

Respectfully submitted,

Jill Steinberg, Esq.
Chairperson

Certificate of Service

I certify that a photocopy of this Petition and Attachments was mailed, first class postage
paid, to the bar representatives listed on pages 34, 35, and 36 on June 3, 2005, and will be
posted on the Commission's web site, www.cletn.com, on or before June 6, 2005.
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Dav1dN Shearon Esq.
Executive Director




EXHIBIT 1

Materials from National Board of Trial Advocacy

Social Security Disability



Social Security Disability Certification Standards
GENERAL PRINCIPLES

Standards shall not in any way limit the right of a social security disability attomey to practice law in all fields.

Certification is individual and voluntary.

Certification is open to all who qualify.

Application for certification will be made to the National Board of Trial Advocacy (NBTA), on the application forms supplied by the NBTA, and accompanied by the

appropriate fee.

Applicants must complete all requirements, including the examination within two years from the date the application is received. If the certification process is not satisfactorily

completed within the two year period, the applicant will need to reapply and submit all required fees.

A certificate will be issued upon a showing by the applicant, and by the NBTA’s own investigation, that the applicant complies with the standards and regulations for

certification.

G. All applications and other information submitted to the NBTA shall be privileged and confidential, except as compelled by law and, except that the NBTA may reveal the fact of
an application for the purpose of verifying information submitted by the applicant, and for the purpose of making such inquiries with respect to the character and professional
reputation of the applicant as may be authorized by law.

H. The NBTA does not discriminate against any lawyers seeking cemﬁcatlon on the basis of race, religion, gender, sexual orientation, disability, or age, except as the natural

consequence of reasonable experience requirements.
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STANDARDS FOR CERTIFICATION

A Good Standing and Period of Practice
1. The applicant shall furnish evidence of his or her good standing in the state of his or her admission, or if admitted in more than one state, in the state of his or her
principal practice.
2. Immediately preceding application, the applicant must have spent five (5) years in the actual practice of Social Security Disability law.
B. . Substantial Involvement
1. The applicant must make a satisfactory showing of substantial involvement relevant to Social Security Disability law. Specifically, at least thirty (30) percent of the
applicant’s practice must be spent on social security disability law three (3) years prior to the date of submission of the application.
Q 2. The applicant must further demonstrate substantial involvement in specialized practice, by showing that he or she has performed the following within the applicant’s
career:
a. Appeared in no fewer than one hundred (100) Social Security Disability Hearings;
b. Filed no less than twenty (20) appeals council briefs;
c. Filed no less than ten (10) briefs in United States District Court, OR
d A combination of hearings, appeals council brief filings and district court brief filings which demonstrates substantial involvement in social security

disability practice equivalent to requirements (a) through (c) above as approved by the Standards Committee.

C. Education Experience
1. The applicant must demonstrate substantial participation in continuing legal education and the development of social security disability practice and law in the three

year period immediately preceding the application either:

a. By attendance and / or electronic participation in not less than thirty-six (36) hours in programs in continuing legal education in social security disability
law approved by the Standards Committee within the three year period preceding dpplication for certification.

b. By equivalent participation through, but not limited to, the following as approved by the Standards Committee:
i Teaching courses or seminars in social security disability law or ethics;
il Participation as a panelist, speaker, workshop leader or the equivalent at educational or professionat conferences and meetings;
ifi. Authorship of books or articles published in professional journals on social security disability law; OR
iv. By a combination of (i) through (iii) above.

D. Peer Review
1. The applicant shall submit with application the names of ten to twelve references, not present partners, associates, or relatives of the applicant. These references
shall be substantially involved in the relevant field of trial law, and familiar with the applicant’s practice in that field. References satisfactory to the NBTA must be
@ received from at least three (3) administrative law judges before whom the applicant has appeared as a social security disability advocate not more than three (3)
K years before the date of application. The remaining three 3 references may be from peer practitioners, opposing counsel at the federal court level, district court
judges or additional administrative law judges familiar with the applicant’s practice.
2. NBTA will solicit confidential statements from all persons listed as references and may solicit confidential statements of reference from other persons, familiar with
the applicant’s practice, not specifically named by the applicant. All reference statements received will be reviewed by the NBTA to assess whether the applicant
has demonstrated an enhanced level of skill and expertise in the practice area, integrity and consideration for the interests of clients.

E. Examination
1. The applicant must pass a written exam which will test his or her enhanced level of skill, expertise, knowledge and experience in social security disability law.

F. Legal Writing Document
The applicant shall submit 6 copies of legal writing which he or she has prepared & filed no more than three (3) years before the date of application. These will be substantial
documents in the area for which the applicant seeks certification, containing concise and accurate writing, stating facts (either actual or hypothetical), stating applicable law, analysis
of how the law applies to the facts, written in an appropriately argumentative manner and well constructed (i.e. organized, grammatical, demonstrative of good syntax and usage).
The quality of the legal document will be evaluated on those criteria and will determine whether the applicant is qualified for certification.
Applicant will submit the following:
Administrative
1. The applicant shall submit two memoranda or detailed letters which s/he has prepared and filed with an administrative faw judge in anticipation of conducting a hearing in a Social
Security Disability (SSD) case (including requests for decisions on the record) or after conducting a hearing but before the judge has decided the claim. As part of the submission, the
applicant must obtain a waiver from the claimant so as to prevent a violation of Social Security Act 42 USC 130(a) and the Privacy Act, 5 USC 552(A)
Council Briefs
2. The applicant shall submit two appeals council bnefs which s/he has prepared and filed. These will be substantial memoranda or briefs stating facts, arguing law, submitted no more
than three (3) years prior to the date of application. As part of the submission, the applicant must obtain 2 waiver from the claimant so as to prevent a violation of Social Security Act
42 USC 130(a) and the Privacy Act, 5 USC 552(A).
Federal Appeals
3. The applicant shall submit two briefs prepared and filed by the applicant in US District Court within three (3) years prior to the date of application.

G. Disclosure of Misconduct
1. In order 1o assist the evaluation of whether the applicant possesses an enhanced level of skill and expertise in trial advocacy and has demonstrated integrity and dedication to the interest
of clients, the applicant shall, to the extent known, disclose to the National Board of Trial Advacacy as soon as permitied by law:
() The filing of any criminal charges against the applicant together with all details called for by the Disclosure of Conduct Form;
(b) The filing or submission of any allegation of unethical or inappropriate professional conduct with any court, grievance committee or disciplinary board or body together with all
details called for by the Disclosure of Conduct Form. 5
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(c) The assertion of any claim of professional negligence or professional liability, whether or not suit has been filed, which is based in any part on alieged acts or omissions of the
applicant or member or on the acts or omissions of any other attorney over whom the applicant or member had any responsibility together with all details calied for by the Disclosure
of Conduct Form.

2. The National Board of Trial Advocacy shall determine, in accordance with its standards and procedures whether the conduct is such that certification should be granted, denied,
suspended or revoked, or whether action should be deferred pending receipt of additional information. The NBTA will take into consideration any findings made by other bodies concernin
such conduct, but is not bound by any such findings and will make its own independent assessment concerning how such conduct bears on whether an attorney is qualified to obtain or
maintain certification.

3. The failure of an applicant to disclose such conduct is a material misrepresentation and may be cause for rejecting an application or refusing to grant certification, or for suspending or
revoking a certificate. The applicant shall have a continuing duty to disclose such matters to the board.

Recertification Standards

A. Good Standing and Period of Practice
1. The applicant shall fumish evidence of his or her good standing in the state of his or her admission, or if admitted in more than one state, in the state of his or her principal
practice.
2. Immediately preceding application, the applicant must have spent five (5) years in the actual practice of Social Security Disability law.

B. Substantial Involvement
1. The applicant must make a satisfactory showing of substantial involvement relevant to Social Security Disability law. Specifically, at least thirty (30) percent of the applicant’s
practice must be spent on social security disability law five (5) years prior to filing the application.
2. The applicant must further demonstrate substantial involvement in specialized practice, by showing that he or she has performed the following within the applicant’s career:
a. Appeared in no fewer than fifty (50) Social Security Disability Hearings;
b. Filed no less than ten (10) appeals council briefs;
c. ,Filed no less than five (5) briefs in United States District Court, OR
d. A combination of hearings, appeals council brief filings and district court brief filings which demonstrates substantial involverment in social secutity disability practice equivalent
to requirements (a) through (c) above as approved by the Standards Committee.

lacation Experience
The applicant must demonstrate that he or she participated in and completed at least thirty-six (36) hours of educational activity, as set forth in Part C of the Certification Standards,
during the five (5) years preceding recertification.

D. Peer Review
1. The applicant shall submit with application the names of six references, not present partners, associates, or relatives of the applicant. These references shall be substantially
involved in the relevant field of trial law, and familiar with the applicant's practice in that field. References satisfactory to the NBTA must be received from at least one
administrative Jaw judge and from at least two peer practitioners, opposing counsel at the federal court leve), district court judges or additional administrative law judges.
2. NBTA will solicit confidential statements from ali persons listed as references and may solicit confidential statements of reference from other persons, familiar with the applicant’s
practice, not specifically named by the applicant. All reference statements received will be reviewed by the NBTA to assess whether the applicant has demonstrated an enhanced
level of skill and expertise in the practice area, integrity and consideration for the interests of clients.

E. Disclosure of Misconduct
The applicant shall comply with Part G of the certification Standards in the same manner as an applicant for certification.
Annual Reporting

Annually, members will be required to submit a Disclosure of conduct form and annual dues. The member’s annual dues and Disclosure of Conduct must be current before an application
for recertification will be granted. Disclosures of Conduct/Liability shall be submitted to the Standards Committee to determine if certification should be continued.

Denial of Revocation or Certification

A.  An application for centification may be denied for failure to comply with any of the requirements relating to good standing, substantial involvement, educational experience, peer
review, examination, advocacy materials, disclosure of conduct, financial responsibility or any other failure to demonstrate possession of an enhanced level of skill and expertise in
social security disability advocacy and demonstrated integrity and dedication to the interests of clients.

B. An application for recertification may be denied for failure to comply with any of the requirements relating to good standing, substantial involvement, educational experience, peer
review, disclosure of conduct, financial responsibility or any other failure to demonstrate possession of an enhanced leve} of skill and knowledge in social security disability advocacy
and integrity and dedication to the interests of clients.

C.  Anexisting certification may be revoked for failure to demonstrate maintenance of an enhanced level of skill and experience in social security disability advocacy and integrity and
dedication to the interests of clients as required for certification or for failure to maintain compliance with the financial responsibility requirements.

D. Decisions of the Examination Committee and the Advocacy Materials Committee are final and not subject to further review or appeal. An Attorney who is refused certification for any
other reason, or wha is refused recertification or whose certification is revoked may pursue review under the Appeal Procedures of the NBTA. Exhaustion of this right shall be a
condition precedent to judicial review.

E. A lawyer who is refused certification or recertification, or whose certification is revoked, may not apply for certification unti} one year after the date of such refusal, denial or

revocation.

Suspension of the license to practice law shall operate as an automatic revocation of certification.

A lawyer whao publicizes certification or application for certification prior to its being granted, or continues to publish a certification after it has been revoked or suspended, may be

barred from certification.

om
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Certification

What is the National Association of Counsel for Children?

The NACC is a national membership organization of juvenile / children’s court
attorneys. Founded in 1977, the mission of the NACC is to improve the
delivery of legal services to children, families, and agencies and to develop
the practice of law for children and families into a high functioning legal
specialty. The NACC is headquartered at the Kempe Children’s Center at The
Children’s Hospital in Denver. The NACC has approximately 2000 members
representing all 50 states and DC. The NACC is a recipient of the Meritorious
Service to the Children of America Award given by the National Council of
Juvenile and Family Court Judges. For more information on the NACC and
juvenile attorney certification, visit the NACC website at www.NACCchildlaw.
org, email to advocate@NACCchildlaw.org, or call toll-free at 888-828-NACC.

What is Board Certification?

Board certification is a process whereby professionals are designated
specialists in a particular area. Board certification brands attorneys as
specialists thereby identifying them to clients and peers as highly qualified
practitioners. At the same time, certification elevates the quality of the
practice of law by encouraging more and more attorneys to be among the
best in their communities. The NACC certification program is modeled after
physician board certification where doctors are board certified in such fields
as family practice and pediatrics. Attorneys have been board certified for
years in areas such as real estate, bankruptcy, criminal law, and estate
planning.

By What Authority Will | be Board Certified?

Certification may be awarded by state or national organizations as provided
by states’ versions of ABA Model Rule of Professional Conduct 7.4. Under
Model Rule 7.4, attorneys may designate themselves as board certified
specialists once certified by the state certification regulatory authority or an
authorized national certification program. The NACC certification program is
sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and has
been accredited by the American Bar Association as an authorized
certification authority (approval anticipated February 2004). As of November,
2004, the NACC certification program is authorized in New Mexico and
application is pending in California. Please contact the NACC to determine
the precise status of NACC certification in your jurisdiction.

What Kinds of Law Practices are Included in Juvenile ng (Chilci

http://www .naccchildlaw.org/training/certification.html (1 of 4)5/3/2005 11:51:51 AM
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Welfare) Certification?

NACC Juvenile Attorney (Child Welfare) Certification is available to attorneys
who serve in the role of Child’s Attorney (including Guardian ad Litem, Law
Guardian, Attorney ad Litem), Parent’s Attorney, and Agency / Department /
Government Attorney. The specialization area as approved by the ABA is
specifically defined as “the practice of law representing children, parents or
the government in all child protection proceedings including emergency,
temporary custody, adjudication, disposition, foster care, permanency
planning, termination, guardianship, and adoption. Child Welfare Law does
not include representation in private child custody and adoption disputes
where the state is not a party.”

Why Should | Get Certified?

Because you are an expert and should be recognized as such. Board
Certification brands attorneys as specialists in the field. Child Welfare Law is
an increasingly complex and sophisticated field requiring special training and
expertise. Whether you have already reached this ievel or plan to by
preparing for NACC certification, you will be able to identify yourself to the
court and your community as a board certified child welfare law specialist.
NACC board certification offers you an edge and you can advertise you have
met the standards approved by the U.S. Supreme Court, the American Bar
Association and the National Association of Counsel for Children. Specialty
certification is a highly recognized, prestigious credential.

What Are the Criteria or Standards for Juvenile Attorney (Child Welfare)
Certification?

Lawyers certified in child welfare law must be knowledgeable in the state and
federal laws applicable to child protection and foster care. A specialist must
also understand relevant principles from child development and psychology
regarding individual and family dynamics and appropriate treatment
modalities for child abuse and negiect and be capable of recognizing the
professional responsibility and ethical issues that arise out of the children’s
status. Lawyers certified as specialists in child welfare law should also be
proficient in the skills of interviewing and counseling child ciients. In order to
by certified, attorneys must meet the following standards:

Good Standing. The applicant shall furnish evidence of his or her good
standing in the state of his or her admission, or if admitted in more than one
state, in the state of his or her principal practice.

Substantial Involvement. The applicant must make a satisfactory showing
of substantial involvement relevant to juvenile law (child welfare), with at least
thirty (30) percent of his or her time involved in juvenile law (child welfare),
during the three (3) years preceding the filing of the application.

Educational Experience. The applicant must demonstrate substantial
participation in continuing legal education relevant to juvenile law (child
welfare) in the three-year period immediately preceding application. Topics
deemed relevant to juvenile law (child welfare) include but are not limited to
substantive and procedural law, trial practice, alternative dispute resolution,
child abuse and neglect, child development, and family dynamics and
relationships. 9
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Peer Review. The applicant shall submit with application the names of no
less than five (5) references. These references shall be substantially involved
in juvenile law (child welfare), and familiar with the applicant's work.
References satisfactory to the NACC must be received from at least one
judge who can attest to the applicant's competence in juvenile law (child
welfare). A reference from an individual who has served as opposing counsel
is encouraged.

Writing Sample. The applicant shall submit a copy of a trial court
memorandum, appellate brief , article, or a writing sample demonstrating
legal analysis in the filed of juvenile law (child welfare). This should be a
substantial writing sample, stating facts and arguing law, submitted or drafted
no more than three years before the date of application.

Examination. The applicant must pass the NACC Juvenile Law (Child
Welfare) written competency examination. The examination may be taken
only after the applicant has satisfied all other certification standards.

How Do | Get Certified?

The process begins by contacting the NACC and requesting the General
Information Brochure and Initial Application. Following receipt of the Initial
Application and fee, the NACC will provide you with a certification packet
containing an Application for Certification, the NACC Child Welfare Law and
Practice Manual , and instructions for completing the certification
requirements. Once you have completed all of the requirements, including
peer review, proof of good standing and substantial involvement, and writing
sample, you will be eligible to sit for the certification exam.

How Much Does it Cost to Become Board Certified in Child Welfare
Law?

Board legal certification typically costs in excess of $1,000. In recognition of
the average salaries of child welfare lawyers, the NACC has reduced that fee
and arranged for further subsidized payment in some cases. The cost of
certification is $500 ($250 due with initial application and $250 due to sit for
the exam). If you will require subsidized fees, contact the NACC for more
information.

How Do | Prepare for the Certification Exam?

Your legal education, practice experience, and continuing legal education in
juvenile and family law all help prepare you for the certification exam. In
addition, applicants should have a command of the following areas of child
welfare law and practice:

Federal Statutory Law
Multi-State Statutes

Federal Constitutional Case Law
International Law

PN~
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Standards for Legal Representation of Children, Parents, and the Child
Welfare Agency

Child Welfare Law and Procedure Generally

Trial Practice in Child Protection

Criminal Laws Applicable to Child Protection

Interdisciplinary Non-Law Issues (child, family, divorce and custody)

©®~No

The NACC Child Welfare Law and Practice Manual (anticipated to be
available Spring 2005) is designed to assist applicants in preparing for the
exam. ltis available for purchase from the NACC and will be provided to
each certification applicant as part as the application fee.

For more information on attorney certification, contact the NACC by clicking
here.

Protecting children and promoding thelr weib-belng through excellence in logal advocany.

H

phone: 1-888-828-NACC | e-mail: advocate@NACCchildlaw.org
s: 1825 Marion Streel, Suite 242 Denver, CO 80218 | Site Map

11
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Materials from National College for DUI Defense

DUI Defense
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National College for DUI Defense - Certification

REGENTS £ FELLOWS
FINDING AN ATTORNEY
SESSIONSSEMINARS
GURRICULUM ARCHIVES
BOOKSTORE / APPAREL
GENERAL MEM&R;S‘_%IF.' j

SUSTAINING MEMBERSHIP

RE:APPLICATION .
CERTIFICATION

RECERTIFICATION”  +

ARTICLES

TRIAL GRAPHICS
STATE DB EGATE BROGRAM
FEEDBACK

Tuesday, May 03, 2005

CERTIFICATION

RE: CERTIFICATION PROGRAM
Dear DUL/DWI Defense Attorney:

On behalf of the Board of Regents, we are please to announce the continuation of the College's
certification program. In an effort to assist the public in recognizing lawyers who concentrate on DUIL
defense and who have demonstrated their competence to do so, the Board of Regents certified its first
lawyers in 1999. In order to be certified an applicant must satisfy certain minimum practice requirements
and pass both written and oral examinations testing his or her knowledge of substantive and procedural law
in this area. We are now accepting applications for our next "graduating class".

If you would like to become Board Certified by the National College for DUI Defense, Inc., please click
next or contact our Executive Director, Rhea Kirk, 334-264-1950, and request an application. You will be
sent a copy of the Rules and Regulations along with the application itself. Completed applications received
by September 30, 2004, will be considered for testing during the next Winter Program.

Applications received after September 30, 2004, will be considered for testing during the following Winter
Session. Once the location and date are finalized, all eligible attorneys will be notified.

The ability to use the certification in any advertising would be subject to your state's rules. Please refer to
the following certification rules for additional details.

Sincerely,

Steven Oberman, Committee Chairman
National College for DUI Defense, Inc.

Next

National College for DUI Defense (NCDD)
445 S Decatur St.
Montgomery AL 36104
Tel: 334-264-1950 Fax: 334-264-1920
E-mail: rhea@ncdd.com

[Home | Contact Us | Regents]
[Sessions | Articles | Feedback | Members | Archives]
© Copyrights 1996-2005 National College for DUI Defense, Inc.
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National College for DUI Defense - Certification

M -L 0] ¥
\ R lUi ijﬁifENSE INC.
HOMEGT Tuesday, May 03, 2005
MESSAGE 7w T

REGENTS/ FELLOWS.

memmammﬁt

ss&ggmmammm N C ER’E‘}F@@A}?N

CURRICULUM ARCHIVES
BOOKSTORE / APPAREL |
GEMERAL MEMBERSHIP

SUSTAINING M‘Eﬁﬁmm  PREPARING FOR THE NCDD BOARD CERTIFICATION EXAMINATION
HE-ARPLICATION '

&RTERC&TIDN The exam shall cover the issues and the complexity of DUI defense, including a demonstration of
knowledge in substantive, procedural and scientific areas, as well as evidentiary issues, which impact and

RE-CERTIFICATION affect the defensc of a DUI defendant.

AKﬂCLEE

J mm Mﬁ&c& o In addition to the written examination, the applicant must pass an oral examination, as prepared and

STATE DEiEGATE PROGRAM administered by the College which will be held in conjunction with the written examination every year

during the midwinter seminar. The oral examination will be fashioned as an appellate oral argument, not to
exceed 10 minutes, on an evidentiary, procedural or scientific issue which impacts and affects the defense of
a DUI as presented in applicant's submitted written memorandum of law.

FEEDBACK

The examination, both written and oral, will attempt to proportionately reflect the knowledge and skills
needed for an enhanced level of advocacy in the field of DUI defense.

The examination does not address state-specific laws and/or chemical testing programs. There are many
excellent texts that are state-specific, however, for purposes of certification, applicants are encouraged to
review materials that are common to the defense of DUI cases throughout the United States. Below is a list
of recommended materials that will help the certification applicant prepare for the examination. Where
possible, a website or contact number is listed for applicants who do not already have these materials in their
library.

Texts

Drunk Driving Defense, 5th Edition (2000), Lawrence Taylor, Aspen Law & Business (1-800-638-8437)
(www.aspenpublishers.com) (supplemented annually) $160

Drinking/Driving Litigation: Criminal and Civil, Nichols & Whited, West Group (1-800-328-4880) (www.
west.thomson.com) (5 Volume Set) (supplemented annually) $550

Handling Drunk Driving Cases, 2d (1995), Edward L. Fiandach, West Publishing Co. (supplemented
annually) $275

4th Medicolegal Aspects of Alcohol, 4th Ed. (2003), James C. Garriott, Lawyers & Judges Publishing Co. (1-
800-209-7109) (www.lawyersandjudges.coni) $99

Intoxication Test Evidence, 2d Ed. (1999), Edward F. Fitzgerald, West Group, (1-800-328-4880) (www.west.
thomson.com) (supplemented annually) $275

Publications/Manuals/Studies

DWI Detection and Standardized Field Sobriety Testing, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
(2002). (www.ntis.gov)

Arend, R., Dioquino, T., Burns, M., Fiorentino, D., Brown, T., Gguyen, S., and SeymouISC. (1999). A
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Florida Validation Study of the Standardized Field Sobriety Test (SFST) Battery. Department of
Transportation, State of Florida. (www.ntis.gov)

Burns, M. and Anderson, E-W. (1995). A Colorado Validation Study of the Standardized Field Sobriety Test
(SFST) Battery. Colorado Department of Transportation. (www.ntis.gov)

Stuster, J. and Burns, M. (1998). Validation of the Standardized Field Sobriety Test Battery at BACs Below
0.10. US Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, DOT-HS-808-
839, Washington, D.C. (www.nlis.gov)

Stuster, J.W. (1993). The Detection of DWI Motorcyclists. U.S. Department of Transportation, National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration, DOT-HS-807-839, Washington, D.C. (www.ntis.gov)

Tharp, V., Burns, M., and Moskowitz, H. (1981). Development and Field Test of Psychophysical Tests for
DWI Arrest. U.S. Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, DOT-HS-
805-864, Washington, D.C. (www.ntis.gov)

Drinking/Driving Law Letter, Nichols & Whited, 26 times a year, West Group (1-800-328-4880) (www.
west.thomson.com) $400 Annually

NACDL's The Champion Magazine, DUI column (202-872-8600 x231) Regular Membership $265
(publication included in membership) (www.nacdl.org)

DWI Journal: Law & Science, Whitaker Newsletters, Inc., 313 South Avenue, P.O. Box 192, Fanwood, NJ
07023 or call 908-889-6336.

Seminars & Seminar Materials

National College for DUI Defense, Annual Summer Session in Boston, Massachusetts & Winter Sessions all
over the country (www.ncdd.com)

NACDL & NCDD "DWI Means Defend With Ingenuity Seminar" Annual Fall Seminar, Las Vegas, Nevada
(202-872-8600 x236) (www.nacdl.org)
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FEEDBACK

Tuesday, May 03, 2005

CERTIFICATION

Posted is the application for Board Certification by the National College for DUI Defense, Inc. You
must submit this completed application together with seven hundred and fitty dollars ($750.00) to the
College in order to open your file. The filing fee for this application is a non-refundable two hundred
and fifty dollars ($250.00). The examination/certification fee is five hundred dollars ($500.00). If your
application is not approved, the examination fee of five hundred dollars ($500.00) will be refunded.

Upon receipt the College will assign you an application number. Upon a determination that your
application is complete and that you meet the application requirements, you will be notified of your
eligibility to take the written and oral examinations.

Please read the Rules Governing Board Certification carefully so that you fully comply with all of
these requirements.

Please note that because of the need for current information, you must complete the certification
process and upon approval take the next available written and oral examination following your initial
application. Failure to do so will require reapplication

The examination will consist of essay questions, multiple choice questions, applicant's written
memorandum, and an oral examination upon the written memorandum. All parts of the examination
will focus on scientific issues; the NHTSA guidelines on field sobriety tests and drug recognition
tests; and legal and ethical issues applicable to the defense of drunk driving cases. A passing score is
seventy-five percent (75%) or higher.

After the Board of Regents accepts your completed application, and you pass the written and oral
exam, you will become Board Certified by the National College for DUI Defense, Inc. for five (5)
years. Your Certification is renewable, provided you maintain an active DUI defense practice and
meet the standards for re-certification. You are required to take the written and oral examinations only
once. No written or oral examination is required for re-certification.

There is an Annual College Certification fee of two hundred and fifty dollars ($250.00) assessed for
each year of Certification following the first full year of Certification. This fee is not due at this time.

The National College for DUI Defense, Inc. does not discriminate against any lawyer seeking
certification on the basis of race, religion, gender, sexual orientation, disability, or age.

Thank you for your interest in the Certification Program.

Rhea Kirk

Executive Director 17
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Tuesday, May 03, 2005
e .
REGENTS / FELLOWS RULES GOVERNING BOARD CERTIFICATION BY THE NATIONAL COLLEGE

FINDING AN ATTORNEY FOR DUI DEFENSE, INC.

SESSIOMS/SEMINARS ~

e ' ; (From this page you may download .pdf forms to apply for certification and submit references.)
CURRICULUM ARCHIVES

sqmmmé-;_@maﬁ (As amended September 22, 2004)

GENERM_ MEMBE‘?%HI? "

gugmmmg Mmgigﬂmp 1.0 PURPOSE

REAPPLICATIO Pff The National College for DUT Defense, Inc. represents a rapidly emerging practice area within the criminal

defense bar. In order to advance the public's interest in securing knowledgeable and effective trial counsel,
the National College has established its Board Certification program. The purpose of the program is to
identify and acknowledge lawyers who possess an enhanced level of skill and expertise in this field, and to
develop and improve the profession's competence in this specialty area.

CERTIFICATION

ARTICLES
ABICECRAMICS 1.1 THE CERTIFICATION COMMITTEE
STATE DELEGATE PROGRAM:  The Certification Committee shall be appointed by the Dean of the National College for DUI Defense,
FEEDBACK . B Inc., and shall consist of up to six members. The committee shall serve at the pleasure of the Dean. The

Certification Committee is responsible for reviewing all applications for certification and reporting to the
_ Board of Regents whether the application is complete and whether the applicant is qualified for the
examination. The Certification Committee shall oversee and administer the operational and ministerial

functions of the written and oral examinations for certification. The Certification Committee shall act by
majority vote.

1.2 DURATION OF CERTIFICATION
A Board Certification by the National College for DUI Defense, Inc. will be for a term of five (5) years,
and is subject to re-certification.

1.3 APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION OR RE-CERTIFICATION

Upon request, the applicant shall receive an application form for Board Certification or Re-certification,
which shall be prepared by the College, as directed by the Board of Regents. The applicant shall also
receive a copy of the Rules Governing Board Certification. The application form shall be sent to the
applicant together with the appropriate number of reference forms. The filing fee for this application is
$250.00, which is non-refundable. (This fee does not apply to re-certification applicants). This filing fee is
in addition to the examination fee discussed in Section 3.0. All applications must be received no later than
September 1st of each calendar year. This application is valid only for the scheduled examination
immediately following the submission of the application.

2.0 CERTIFICATION STANDARDS
An attorney shall be required to satisfy the minimum standards set forth below to become Board Certified
by the National College for DUI Defense.

2.1 SUBSTANTIAL INVOLVEMENT
An applicant for Board Certification must demonstrate substantial involvement in the practice area of DUI
defense. In order to satisfy this requirement:

A. The applicant must have practiced in the area of DUI defense for a minimum period of three (3) years
preceding the application;

19
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B.

C.

The applicant must demonstrate the performance of a minimum number of designated tasks in the
field, as detailed in Section 2.1.1; and

At least fifty percent (50%) of the total practice of the applicant at the time of application must be
devoted to DUI defense.

2.1.1 TASK REQUIREMENTS
An applicant for certification must have fulfilled the following minimum task requirements for Board
Certification within three (3) years preceding the application:

A.

B.

Applicant must have been lead counsel in at least 20 DUI trials to verdict or judgment;

Applicant must have been lead counsel in 40 contested matters involving the taking of evidence (i.e.
hearings or motions) not included within the trials referred to above;

. Applicant must submit a memorandum of law limited to five pages, prepared by the applicant, which

addresses a DUI issue as directed by the Certification Committee. This memorandum will serve as the
applicant's issue for oral examination; and

. If applicant is unable to satisfy task requirements A and B, applicant may submit a written statement of

explanation, together with proposed alternative task performances which applicant believes equally
satisfy requirements A and B.

2.2 INDEPENDENT INQUIRY AND REVIEW
The applicant shall be required to submit a minimum of: a) three (3) references from judges who
acknowledge the competency of the applicant in the area of DUI defense, and b) a minimum of three (3)
references from attorneys who are knowledgeable regarding the area of DUI defense, are familiar with the
applicant and can attest to his or her competency in the area of DUI defense. None of the references may

- be related to, or engaged in the legal practice of law with, the applicant. The references will be sent to the
College and initially reviewed by the Certification Committee and reported to the Board of Regents.

2.2.1 REFERENCE FORMS

The reference forms shall be prepared by the College and may be downloaded from the NCDD Web Site
to be given to his or her references. The reference forms will be returned directly to the College by the
named reference and not by the applicant.

2.3 EDUCATIONAL EXPERIENCE

Within three years immediately preceding an application, the applicant must have completed a minimum
of thirty-six (36) hours of College approved education in the field of DUI defense. State approved specialty
continuing legal education program, in the area of DUI defense, and those provided and sanctioned by the
College will be deemed to satisfy this requirement. This requirement may also be met through any of the
following means:

(1) Attending programs of continuing legal education or courses offered by ABA accredited law schools

in the area of DUI defense;

(2) Teaching courses or seminars related to DUI defense;

(3) Participating as a panelist, speaker or workshop leader at educational or professional conferences

relating to DUI defense; or,

(4) Writing published books or articles concerning DUI defense. 20
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2.4 CURRENT ELIGIBILITY TO PRACTICE LAW FOR CERTIFICATION

In order to be certified or re-certified, the applicant must be admitted, be a member in good standing, and
currently eligible to practice law in one or more states or territories of the United States or the District of
Columbia, or in any of the United States Courts.

3.0 EXAMINATION

Satisfactory passage of a written examination is required for Board Certification. The written examination
shall be prepared by the College and administered in conjunction with the College's midwinter seminar, or
as otherwise directed by the Board of Regents. The exam shall require a demonstration of knowledge in

substantive, procedural and scientific areas, as well as evidentiary issues, which affect the defense of a
DUI case.

In addition to the written examination, the applicant must pass an oral examination administered by the
College, which will occur in conjunction with the written examination, or as otherwise directed by the
Board of Regents. The oral examination will be fashioned as an oral argument, not to exceed 10 minutes,
on the issue presented in applicant's submitted written memorandum of law.

The written and oral portions of the examination will reflect the knowledge and skills needed for an
enhanced level of DUI trial advocacy.

The fee for the combined written and oral examination is five hundred dollars ($500.00). The examination
fee must accompany the application. If the applicant's application is rejected, the examination fee of five
hundred dollars ($500.00) will be returned to applicant, and the applicant will be ineligible to sit for the
examination.

4.0 PETITIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION

After written notice has been sent by the Board of Regents or the Certification Committee that an
application for certification or re-certification has been denied, or a certificate has been revoked or
suspended, the applicant seeking review must petition the Board of Regents for reconsideration. Such
petition must be received by the Board of Regents within 30 days of the date that the notice was sent. The
petition may be informal, but shall be in writing and adequately identify the issue(s) for which
reconsideration is requested, the date of mailing of such adverse notice, the reasons the adverse notice
should be altered, and the relief requested.

4.1 RECONSIDERATION RELATING TO THE CERTIFICATION EXAMINATION

If a petition for reconsideration questions the applicant's performance on the certification examination, the
petition shall be forwarded by the Board of Regents to the Certification Committee. The Certification
Committee shall decide whether to recommend that the Board of Regents grant the requested relief after
considering the applicant's petition, the applicant's examination, and any additional information obtained
by the committee. The applicant shall be advised of the Board of Regents' decision by written notice
mailed within 15 days after the decision has been made.

4.2 RECONSIDERATION RELATING TO THE CERTIFICATION APPLICATION OR
STANDARDS

If a petition for reconsideration questions an aspect of the certification program other than the applicant's
performance on the certification examination, the petition shall also be forwarded by the Board of Regents
to the Certification Committee. The Certification Committee shall decide whether to recommend that the
Board of Regents grant the requested relief after considering the applicant's petition and any additional
information obtained by the committee. The applicant shall be advised of the Board of Regents' decision
by written notice mailed within 15 days after the decision has been made.

4.3 HEARINGS

Although there is no right to a hearing on a petition for reconsideration, the appropriate committee, or the
Board of Regents in its discretion, may grant the petitioner a hearing in person or by alternate means as
designated by the Board. 21

http://www.ncdd.com/dsp_certification3.cfm (3 of 6)5/3/2005 11:55:36 AM



Nationai College for DUI Defense - Certification

5.0 APPEAL OF RECONSIDERATION DENIAL

An appeal of an adverse decision of a reconsideration petition by the Certification Committee may be
taken to the Board of Regents. The Board of Regents will appoint an impartial reviewing body (excluding
members of the Certification Committee who made the adverse decision). The impartial reviewing body
will make a recommendation to the Board of Regents upon the appeal.

Two-thirds of the Board of Regents, excluding members of the Certification Committee who made the
adverse ruling, shall decide the issue upon appeal. The appeal shall be in writing, sent by certified mail
(return receipt requested), and shall be sent to the Dean of the National College for DUI Defense within 30
days after written notice of the adverse decision has been sent to the applicant. The applicant shall be
advised of the decision on appeal by written notice mailed within 15 days after such decision has been
made.

6.0 CERTIFICATE HOLDER REPORTING RESPONSIBILITIES

A. The certificate holders are required to report to the Dean of the College any fact or circumstance
described in Section 9.1.

B. Within 30 days of any change of address listed with the College, the certificate holder shall provide the
Executive Director with written notice of the new address.

6.1 CONTINUING CERTIFICATION FEE

A certificate holder shall be required to pay an annual certification fee following the first full year of
certification unless waived by the College.

7.0 RE-CERTIFICATION STANDARDS
The following subsections detail the minimum standards which an applicant must meet for re-certification.

7.1 SUBSTANTIAL INVOLVEMENT FOR RE-CERTIFICATION

An applicant for re-certification must demonstrate substantial involvement in the certified field throughout
the current certification period. Substantial involvement requires that the task requirements below be met,
and that DUI defense comprises at least fifty percent (50%) of the total practice of the applicant.

7.1.1 RE-CERTIFICATION TASK REQUIREMENTS
An applicant for re-certification must have fulfilled the following minimum task requirements for Board
Certification within the applicant's existing certification period:

A. Applicant must have been lead counsel in at least 20 DUI trials to verdict or judgment; and

B. Applicant must have been lead counsel in 40 contested matters involving the taking of evidence (i.e.,
hearings or motions) not included within the trials referred to above.

C. If applicant is unable to satisfy task requirements A and B, applicant may submit a written statement of
explanation, together with proposed alternative task performances which applicant believes equally
satisfy requirements A and B.

7.2 RE-CERTIFICATION INDEPENDENT INQUIRY AND REVIEW
Independent inquiry and review, if required by the Board of Regents, may be performed in the manner set
forth in Section 2.2, et seq., or as otherwise directed by the Board.

7.3 RE-CERTIFICATION EDUCATIONAL EXPERIENCE
An applicant for re-certification must have completed within the preceding three (3) yepys, thirty-six (36)
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hours of approved education in the field of DUI defense as described in Section 2.4.

8.0 RECOMMENDATION FOR CERTIFICATION OR RE-CERTIFICATION

The recommendation to the Board of Regents for or against Board Certification or Re-certification shall be
approved by majority vote of the Certification Committee. Approval or disapproval of an applicant for
certification or re-certification shall be decided by a two-thirds majority vote of the Board of Regents,
subject to the appellate procedures contained herein.

9.0 REVOCATION AND SUSPENSION OF CERTIFICATION
The following subsections establish the criteria and process by which the Board of Regents may revoke or
suspend certification.

9.1 REVOCATION AND SUSPENSION CRITERIA
The Board of Regents may revoke or suspend a certification, if:

A. The certificate was granted contrary to the Rules Governing Board Certification;

B. The certificate was granted to an attorney who is not eligible to acquire a certificate or who made any
false representation or misstatement of material fact to the Certification Committee or the Board;

C. The certtificate holder has failed to abide by the Rules Governing Board Certification;
D. The certificate holder has failed to pay any applicable fee;
E. The certificate holder no longer meets the established qualifications;

F. The certificate holder has been disciplined, disbarred, or suspended from practice by any body
authorized to impose professional discipline;

G. The certificate holder has been convicted of a crime; or

H. The certificate holder has admitted malpractice, or a final malpractice judgment has been entered
against the certificate holder.

9.2 REVOCATION AND SUSPENSION PROCESS

Prior to revocation or suspension of board certification, the Board of Regents shall advise the certificate
holder of the proposed action, the reasons for the action, and the certificate holder's right to file a written
response. Said notice shall be in writing and sent by certified mail (return receipt requested) to the
certificate holder's last known address on file with the College. The certificate holder's written response
shall be sent by certified mail (return receipt requested) to the Dean of the National College for DUI
Defense within 30 days after the mailing date of said notice. After the 30-day response period has passed,
the Board of Regents shall meet and decide by a two-thirds majority vote whether to revoke or suspend the
certification. The certificate holder shall be advised of the Board of Regents' decision by written notice
mailed within 15 days after the decision has been made. There shall be no further appeal from the decision
of the Board of Regents.

9.2.1 REVOCATION AND SUSPENSION HEARING
Although there is no right to a hearing in the revocation or suspension process, the Board of Regents, in its

sole discretion, may grant the certificate holder a hearing in person, or by alternate means designated by
the Board.

10.0 USE OF BOARD CERTIFICATION NOMENCLATURE 23
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An applicant who has been successfully granted Board Certification by the National College for DUI
Defense, Inc. shall be permitted to use the designation "Board Certified in DUI Defense Law, National
College for DUI Defense” only in accordance with the rules and regulations which both legally and
ethically bind such applicant in their respective state(s). Any other such suggestion, implication or
statement of certification, specialization, or approval is specifically prohibited. Any other wording or
designation must be approved by the Certification Committee and the Board of Regents for the National
College for DUI Defense.

Any individual who has not applied for Board Certification as well as any applicant for Board Certification
who might be awaiting the results of such application through the National College for DUI Defense may
not make any suggestion, implication or statement of certification, specialization or approval by or through
the National College for DUI Defense.
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Tennessee Standards for Certification

Social Secuity Disability Specialist
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TENNESSEE COMMISSION ON CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION
AND SPECIALIZATION

Certification Standards
for
Social Security Disability Law Specialists
Dated: April 18, 2005

The following standards for certification of Tennessee attorneys as Social Security Disability Law
Specialists are hereby adopted by the Tennessee Commission on Continuing Legal Education and
Specialization.

Initial Certification

To obtain certification by the Tennessee Commission on Continuing Legal Education and
Specialization as a Social Security Disability Law Specialist, a Tennessee attorney must:

(1) Become Board certified by the National Board of Trial Advocacy as a Social Security
Disability Law Trial Specialist.

(2) Provide the names and current mailing addresses of five (5) clients whom the attorney has
represented in social security disability law matters within the last three (3) years for the
Commission’s use in soliciting client evaluations. This requirement shall not apply to an
attorney exclusively employed for the preceding three years by a government agency or
agencies, or as in-house counsel for a single corporation. The Commission may reduce or
waive this requirement, in its discretion, for attorneys who have left employment by a
government agency or agencies, or as in-house counsel for a single corporation, during the
three years preceding application for certification.

(3) Complete and file with the Commission a Practice Management Checklist in a form
acceptable to the Commission.

(4) Provide a release for the Board of Professional Responsibility, and the disciplinary agencies of
all other states in which the attorney may be licensed, to advise the Commission of any past or
pending disciplinary complaints against the attorney, and the action taken thereon, and for the
Commission and the National Board of Trial Advocacy to disclose and discuss any
information obtained as part of the attorney’s application to either the commission or National
Board of Trial Advocacy.

(5) Provide the Commission with evidence of professional liability insurance of not less than Five
Hundred Thousand ($500,000) Dollars and with policy provisions acceptable to the
Commission unless the attorney is practicing exclusively as an employee of a government
agency or agencies.

Continuing Certification
To continue to be certified, the attorney must:
(1) Maintain Board certified status with the National Board of Trial Advocacy.
(2) File annually with the Commission a Practice Management Checklist (see (3) above) and

evidence of professional liability insurance (see (5) above) and a fee of One Hundred
($100.00) Dollars.
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(3) Provide a release for the Board of Professional Responsibility to advise the Commission of
any ethics complaints filed against the attorney, and any action taken thereon, so long as the
attorney remains a certified specialist.
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TENNESSEE COMMISSION ON CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION
AND SPECTALIZATION

Certification Standards
for

Juvenile Law — Child Welfare Specialists

Dated: April 18, 2005

The following standards for certification of Tennessee attorneys as Juvenile Law — Child Welfare
Specialists are hereby adopted by the Tennessee Commission on Continuing Legal Education and
Specialization.

Tnitial Certification

To obtain certification by the Tennessee Commission on Continuing Legal Education and
Specialization as a Juvenile Law — Child Welfare Specialist, a Tennessee attorney must:

(1) Become Board certified by the National Association of Counsel for Children as a Juvenile
Law — Child Welfare Specialist.

(2) Provide the names and current mailing addresses of five (5) clients whom the attorney has
represented in Juvenile Law — Child Welfare matters within the last three (3) years for the
Commission’s use in soliciting client evaluations. This requirement shall not apply to an
attorney exclusively employed for the preceding three years by a government agency or
agencies, or as in-house counsel for a single corporation. The Commission may reduce or
waive this requirement, in its discretion, for attorneys who have left employment by a
government agency or agencies, or as in-house counsel for a single corporation, during the
three years preceding application for certification.

(3) Complete and file with the Commission a Practice Management Checklist in a form
acceptable to the Commission.

(4) Provide a release for the Board of Professional Responsibility, and the disciplinary agencies of
all other states in which the attorney may be licensed, to advise the Commission of any past or
pending disciplinary complaints against the attorney, and the action taken thereon, and for the
Commission and the National Association of Counsel for Children to disclose and discuss any
information obtained as part of the attorney’s application to either the commission or National
Association of Counsel for Children.

(5) Provide the Commission with evidence of professional liability insurance of not less than Five
Hundred Thousand ($500,000) Dollars and with policy provisions acceptable to the
Commission unless the attorney is practicing exclusively as an employee of a government
agency or agencies.

Continuing Certification
To continue to be certified, the attorney must:
(1) Maintain Board certified status with the National Association of Counsel for Children.
(2) File annually with the Commission a Practice Management Checklist (see (3) above) and

evidence of professional liability insurance (see (5) above) and a fee of One Hundred
($100.00) Dollars.
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(3) Provide a release for the Board of Professional Responsibility to advise the Commission of
any ethics complaints filed against the attorney, and any action taken thereon, so long as the
attorney remains a certified specialist.
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TENNESSEE COMMISSION ON CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION
AND SPECIALIZATION

Certification Standards
for
DUI Defense Specialists
Dated: April 18, 2005

The following standards for certification of Tennessee attorneys as DUI Defense Specialists are
hereby adopted by the Tennessee Commission on Continuing Legal Education and Specialization.

Initial Certification

To obtain certification by the Tennessee Commission on Continuing Legal Education and
Specialization as a DUI Defense Specialist, a Tennessee attorney must:

(1) Become Board certified by the National College of DUI Defense as a DUI DefenseTrial
Specialist.

(2) Provide the names and current mailing addresses of five (5) clients whom the attorney has
represented in DUI defense matters within the last three (3) years for the Commission’s use in
soliciting client evaluations. This requirement shall not apply to an attorney exclusively
employed for the preceding three years by a government agency or agencies, or as in-house
counsel for a single corporation. The Commission may reduce or waive this requirement, in
its discretion, for attorneys who have left employment by a government agency or agencies,
or as in-house counsel for a single corporation, during the three years preceding application
for certification.

(3) Complete and file with the Commission a Practice Management Checklist in a form
acceptable to the Commission.

(4) Provide arelease for the Board of Professional Responsibility, and the disciplinary agencies of
all other states in which the attorney may be licensed, to advise the Commission of any past or
pending disciplinary complaints against the attorney, and the action taken thereon, and for the
Commission and the National College of DUI Defense to disclose and discuss any
information obtained as part of the attorney’s application to either the commission or National
College of DUI Defense.

(5) Provide the Commission with evidence of professional liability insurance of not less than Five
Hundred Thousand ($500,000) Dollars and with policy provisions acceptable to the
Commission unless the attorney is practicing exclusively as an employee of a government
agency or agencies.

Continuing Certification
To continue to be certified, the attorney must:
(1) Maintain Board certified status with the National College of DUI Defense.
(2) File annually with the Commission a Practice Management Checklist (see (3) above) and

evidence of professional liability insurance (see (5) above) and a fee of One Hundred
($100.00) Dollars.
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(3) Provide arelease for the Board of Professional Responsibility to advise the Commission of
any cthics complaints filed against the attorney, and any action taken thereon, so long as the
attorney remains a certified specialist.
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Carmon Thomas Hooper III
Haywood County Bar Association
10 S Court Square

PO Box 55

Brownsville TN 38012

William Thomas Wray Jr
Kingsport Bar Association
1212 N Eastman Rd

PO Box 3740

Kingsport TN 37664

Donald Bryson Roe

Anderson County Bar Association
14 Kentucky Ave Ste 100

Oak Ridge TN 37830

Andrew M. Hanson
Bristol Bar Association
P.O. Box 2009

Bristol VA 24203

James Timothy Street

Williamson County Bar Association
238 Public Square

FRANKLIN TN 37064

John Morris Miles

Obion County Bar Association
511 S Third St

PO Box 2041

Union City TN 38281

Billy Wayne Townsend
Decatur,Hickman,lewis Bar
Association

26 West Linden

PO Box 340

Micah Shannon Littleton
Loudon County Bar Association
PO Box 449

Lenoir City TN 37771

Thomas Andre Davidson
Marshall County Bar Association
107 W Commerce St Ste C
Lewisburg TN 37091

John Lee Williams

Humphreys County Bar Association
102 S Court Sq

Waverly TN 37185

Timothy Clark Naifeh

Lake County Bar Association
102 S Court St

Tiptonville TN 38079

Robert Maynard Cohen

Blount County Bar Association
303 High St

Maryville TN 37804

Robert William Scott

Campbell County Bar Association
P. O.Box 436

Jacksboro TN 37757

Christopher Joel Pittman
Montgomery County Bar
Association

324 Franklin Street
Clarksville TN 37040

Paul David Hessing

Paris-Henry County Bar Association
216 W Wood St

Paris TN 38242

George Benson Boston

Lawrence County Bar Association
235 Waterloo St

PO Box 357

Lawrenceburg TN 38464

Michelle Greenway Sellers
Jackson-Madison-Henderson
County Bar Association

P. O.Box 1147

Jackson TN 38302

Charles T. Timothy Tisher
Maury County Bar Association
33 Public Square

PO Box 1952

Columbia TN 38402

Jason Shane Randolph

Jefferson County Bar Association
P. O. Box 828

Dandridge TN 37725

William Dan Douglas Jr
Lauderdale County Bar Association
109 N Main St

PO Box 489

Ripley TN 38063

Marcia Mallory McMurray
Bradley County Bar Association
PO Box 610

Cleveland TN 37364

William Denton Mitchell
White County Bar Association
112 S Main St

Sparta TN 38583

Michael A Davis

Morgan County Bar Association
PO Box 925

Wartburg TN 37887

William Fred Roberson Jr.
Putnam County Bar Association
320 E Broad St Ste D
Cookeville TN 38501

Randall Edward Self

Lincoln County Bar Association
131a E Market St

PO Box 501

Fayetteville TN 37334

Russell Anne Swafford

Twelfth Judicial District Bar
Association

PO Box 758

Dunlap TN 37327

Paul Leland Smith
McMinn-Meigs County Bar
Association

114 1/2 E Washington Ave Ste 3
Athens TN 37303
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John Raymond LaBar

Coffee County Bar Association
300 N Jackson St

Tullahoma TN 37388

Jason L Hudson

Dyer County Bar Association
116 W Court St

Dyersburg TN 38024

John Dana Agee

Roane County Bar Association
P. O. Box 730

Kingston TN 37763

Mark E Blakley

Scott County Bar Association
PO Box 240

Huntsville TN 37756

Kimberly Elam Linville

Tipton County Bar Association
PO Box 846

114 W Liberty Ave Ste 300
Covington TN 38019

Kyle Carter Atkins

Gibson County Bar Association
1302 Main St

PO Box 160

Humboldt TN 38343

Renfro Blackburn Baird III
Hawkins County Bar Association
211 S Depot St

Rogersville TN 37857

M Kevin Heffelman

Cheatham County Bar Association
112 S Main St

Ashland City TN 37015

John Richardson White

Bedford County Bar Association
Union Planters Bank Bldg Ste 202
PO Box 169

Shelbyville TN 37162

Randal Roy Boston

Cumberland County Bar Association
386 Thurman Avenue

P.O. Box 2721

Crossville TN 38557

David Blair Foutch

Fifteenth Judical District Bar
Association

109 Castle Heights Ave N
Lebanon TN 37087

Joe Rogers Johnson IT

Robertson County Bar Association
120 6th Ave W

Springfield TN 37172

Richard Thomas Wallace
Sevier County Bar Association
111 Commerce St

Sevierville TN 37862

Christy MclInturff Huret
Washington County Bar Association
801 Sunset Dr E-2

Johnson City TN 37604

Cynthia Bibb Pectol

Greene County Bar Association
223 N. Main St.

Greeneville TN 37745

Matthew Marshall Maddox
Carroll County Bar Association
19695 E Main St

PO Box 827

Huntingdon TN 38344

William Ritchie Stanifer
Claiborne County Bar Association
1735 Main St

PO Box 203

Tazewell TN 37879

Andrew Bradley Frazier
Benton County Bar Association
116 E Main

PO Box 208

Camden TN 38320

Lawrence Eugene Ramsey
Dickson County Bar Association
320 E College St # D

Dickson TN 37055

James Michael Taylor

Rhea County Bar Association
375 Church St Ste 300
Dayton TN 37321

John Herbert Baker 111
Rutherford-Cannon County Bar
Association

302 N Spring St
P. O. Box 398
Zoe L. Doyle
Sumner County Bar Association
119 Public Sq

Gallatin TN 37066

Langdon S Unger Jr

Weakley County Bar Association
PO Box 1022

306 Broadway

Martin TN 38237

Jeffrey Clyde Taylor

Hamblen County Bar Association
P. O. Box 1223

Morristown TN 37816

Regina LeeAnn Shepherd
Carter County Bar Association
116 South Main Street
Elizabethton TN 37643

James Bruce Dunn

Cocke County Bar Association
243 E Broadway

Newport TN 37821

Bratten Hale Cook

Dekalb County Bar Association
104 N 3rd St

Smithville TN 37166
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Joseph Eugene Ford

Franklin County Bar Association
17 S College St

Winchester TN 37398

William John Cockett

Johnson County Bar Association
PO Box 108

247 W Main

Mountain City TN 37683

Barry Keith Maxwell

Monroe County Bar Association
P. O. Box 425

Madisonville TN 37354

Creed Allen Daniel

Grainger County Bar Association
Cthse Square Marshall Ave

PO Box 6

Rutledge TN 37861

Barbara N. Short

TN Assoc. of Criminal Defense
Lawyers

810 Broadway

Ste. 501
Anne Fritz
Memphis Bar Association
ONE COMMERCE SQUARE
SUITE 1050

MEMPHIS TN 38103

Rose Cox

TENNESSEE DEFENSE
LAWYERS ASSOCIATION
P. O. Box 190564

Nashville TN 372190564

Lance Bracy

Board of Professional Responsibility
1101 Kermit Drive #730

Nashville TN 37217

Harriet Sue Thompson

Hardeman County Bar Association
106 E Market St

PO Box 600

Bolivar TN 38008

Lois Bunton Davis

Unicoi County Bar Association
PO Box 129

111 Gay St

Erwin TN 37650

Dan Thomas Bryant

Warren County Bar Association
118 College St

Mc Minnville TN 37110

Alan Ramsaur

Tennessee Bar Association
221 4th Ave N Ste. 400
Nashville TN 37219

Susan W. Sowards
Nashville Bar Association
315 Union Street

Suite 800

Nashville TN 37201

Lynda Hood

Chattanooga Bar Association
The Pioneer Building

801 Broad ST - STE 420
Chattanooga TN 37402

Sarah Appleby

Tennessee Judicial Conference
Nashville City Center, Ste 600
511 Union Street

Nashville TN 37219

Sarah Appleby

Tennessee General Sessions Judges
Conference

Nash. City Center, Suite 600

511 Union Street

James A. Hopper

Hardin County Bar Association
40 W Main St

PO Box 220

Savannah TN 38372

Kenneth David Myers

Union County Bar Association
105 Monroe St

PO Box 13

Maynardville TN 37807

Daryl Anthony Colson

Overton County Bar Association
211 N Church St

Livingston TN 38570

Suzanne Keith
Tennessee Trial Lawyers
Association

1903 Division Street
Nashville TN 37203

Marsha Pace

Knoxville Bar Association
505 Main Street, Suite 50
PO Box 2027

Knoxville TN 37901

Pamela Roller

Tennessee Lawyers' Association for
Women

P.O. Box 331214

Nashville TN 37203

ALICE FERGUSON
TENNESSEE DISTRICT
ATTORNEYS GENERAL
CONFERENCE

226 CAPITOL BLVD STE 800

Jesse Farr
CHATTANOOGA TRIAL
LAWYERS ASSOCIATION
Suite 401, Flatiron Building
707 Georgia Avenue
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