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Bettye Shores (“Employee”) alleged she suffered a mental injury during the course and
scope of her employment with the State of Tennessee (“Employer”) when a reprimand
from her supervisor “lit up” her preexisting post-traumatic stress disorder. Employer
moved to dismiss the claim, asserting Employee failed to give timely notice of her
alleged injury as mandated by Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-201. After a hearing, the

.. Commissioner granted Employer’s motion to dismiss. Employee has appealed. The

appeal has been referred to the Special Workers’ Compensation Appeals Panel for a
hearing and a report of findings of fact and conclusions of law pursuant to Tennessee
Supreme Court Rule 51. We affirm the Commissioner’s judgment.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-225(a)(Supp. 2017) Appeal as of Right;
Judgment of the Claims Commission Affirmed
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C.J. and DON R. ASH, SR.J., joined.
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OPINION
Factual and Procedural Background

Employee worked for Employer as a Program Coordinator with the Department of

Human Services. She had been a state employee for approximately 14 years and had
served without incident under her supervisor, Nancy McLean, since 2009. However, on
July 1, 2016, Ms. McLean chided Employee purportedly for remarks she had made to a
coworker about a promotion. According to Employee, the incident “lit up” her pre-
existing, but asymptomatic, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) resulting from an
automobile accident during her childhood.

On November 9, 2016, Employee gave notice to Employer that she had suffered a
workers’ compensation injury on July 1, 2016. On November 18, 2016, the State’s
workers’ compensation carrier, Corvel Corporatlon (“Insurer”), denied the claim and
informed Employee of her right to request a benefit review conference within 90 days.
Employee did not file her petition for benefit determination until June 6, 2017. The
mediator issued a dispute resolution certificate on July 21, 2017, indicating the matter
was unresolved. Employee appealed to the Tennessee Claims Commission on August 18,
2017.

= On October 6, 2017, Employer filed a Motion to Dismiss, or-in the alternative,
Motion for Summary Judgment, claiming Employee (1) failed to notify Employer within
15 days of the alleged date of injury as required by Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-201 and (2)
failed to request alternative dispute resolution within 90 days of the denial of the claim.
An in-person hearing was held on March 16, 2018, at which Employee, her husband, and
her supervisor, Ms. McLean, testified.

Employee testified that her injury occurred on July 1; however, she could only
“vaguely” recall what happened on that date. According to Employee, Ms. McLean
accused her of being “untrustworthy,” “a liar,” and “[d]ishonest.” She felt the reprimand
stemmed from earlier remarks she had made in jest to a coworker about a promotion.
Employee believed the incident reactivated her PTSD from a 1968 automobile accident
that left her comatose and with injuries requiring “a thousand stitches.” She recalled that
when she returned to school upon recovery, the other children referred to her in
disparaging terms. According to Employee, her mistreatment by the other children
caused her to lose trust in others. However, she thought she could trust the coworker to
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understand she was only joking about “the promotion, ... moving offices and this other
stuff.”

Employee could not recall if she finished working on July 1 after the incident. She
“said all she could think about was suicide. Employee went to see her physician, Dr.
Michael Mertens, the next day.! She said she did not realize she had an injury, and she
did not recall reporting her injury in November 2016, when she was hospitalized for four
weeks due to suicidal ideations. Employee said she could vaguely recall an in-take
staffer at the hospital telling her she had a workers’ compensation injury.

On cross-examination, Employee agreed she took family medical leave in July
2016, and had taken family medical leave in early 2016 that was unrelated to her PTSD.
Employee could not recall when she gave notice of her injury, but she acknowledged that
her C-20 form indicated the first notice of injury was in November 2016.

Terry Shores, Employee’s husband, testified how the alleged injury affected his
wife. He opined that she was incapable of reporting a workers’ compensation injury
from August through October.

Nancy McLean testified she is employed by the State of Tennessee as the
managing attorney for appeals and hearings. She held that position in 2016 when she
supervised Employee. Ms. McLean became aware of Employee’s claim of a work-
related injury in mid-November when she received a telephone call from Insurer. Ms.
McLean saw no evidence of an injury on July 1. She was aware Employee took Family
Medical Leave Act (FMLA) leave in July 2016, but she was unaware of the reason for
the leave. Ms. McLean recalled Employee had previously taken family medical leave in
2009 regarding problems with her leg, and possibly again in 2015. She assumed the July
2016 leave was for the same purpose. Ms. McLean explained that a supervisor never
discusses an individual’s medical history with an Employee and never asks why an
employee is seeking medical leave. Instead, the supervisor gets a cover letter from the

! The record contains conflicting proof about the actual date of Employee’s doctor’s visit.
Employee testified she saw Dr. Mertens the following day (July 2) while other portions of the record
suggest the visit occurred on July 1, 2016. We note, however, that any such discrepancy is immaterial to
our ultimate determination.
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assistant commissioner of the department indicating leave has been approved.

Employee messaged Ms. McLean on July 28 while on leave indicating she would
be returning to work on August 1. Employee worked much of August, missing August 8
for a CT scan and August 11 and 12 due to pain. Employee worked much of September
and October during which time Ms. McLean saw no evidence of injury. She recalled
Employee missed a week in October to assist her husband who had returned home after a
hospital stay. ‘

Ms. MclLean said she had excellent rapport with Employee during these months.
In fact, she had spoken with the assistant commissioner about the quality of Employee’s
work and had recommended that Employee “get an advance” in her evaluation. Ms.
McLean recalled Employee told her in December she had been in a psychiatric facility;
had been diagnosed with a personality disorder; and was considering retirement.
Employee came into the office on December 29 and announced her retirement. She
informed Ms. McLean she planned to file the necessary paperwork to take the balance of
her family leave.

At the close of the testimony, the Claims Commissioner gave the parties additional
-~ time to brief the fiviice issue. By Order filed May 8, 2018, the Commissioner (1) grants
the Employer’s Motion to Dismiss for failure to give timely notice of her injury but (2)
denied Employer’s Motion to Dismiss or for Summary Judgment for failure to timely file
a Petition for Benefit Determination. Employee has appealed.

Analysis
Standard of Review

Appellate review of the Commissioner’s findings of fact is “de novo upon the
record” of the Commissioner accompanied by a presumption of correctness, unless the
evidence preponderates otherwise. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-225(a)(1), (2) (2014).
As the Supreme Court has consistently observed, reviewing courts must conduct an in-
depth examination of the lower tribunal’s factual findings and conclusions. Wilhelm v.
Krogers, 235 S.W.3d 122, 126 (Tenn. 2007). When the Commissioner has seen and
heard the witnesses, considerable deference must be afforded the Commissioner’s factual
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findings. See Tryon v. Saturn Corp., 254 S.W.3d 321, 327 (Tenn. 2008). No similar
deference need be afforded the Commissioner’s findings based upon documentary
evidence such as depositions. See Glisson v. Mohon Int=I, Inc./Campbell Ray, 185

S.W.3d 348, 353 (Tenn. 2006). Similarly, reviewing courts afford no presumption of
correctness to the Commissioner’s conclusions of law. See Seiber v. Reeves Logging,
284 S.W.3d 294, 298 (Tenn. 2009).

Our primary inquiry is whether the Commissioner erred in granting Employer’s
motion to dismiss based on Employee’s failure to give timely notice. The notice
requirement is contained in Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-201 which provides that:

(a)(1) Every injured employee or the injured employee's representative
shall, immediately upon the occurrence of an injury, or as soon thereafter as
is reasonable and practicable, give or cause to be given to the employer
who has no actual notice, written notice of the injury, and the employee
shall not be entitled to physician's fees or to any compensation that may
have accrued under this chapter, from the date of the accident to the giving
of notice, unless it can be shown that the employer had actual knowledge of
the accident. No compensation shall be payable under this chapter, unless
the written notice is given to the employer within fifteen (15) days after the
occurrence of the accident, unless reasonable excuse for failure to give the
notice is made to the satisfaction of tii¢”iriblinal to which the claim for
compensation may be presented.

(2) The notice of the occurrence of an accident by the employee required to
be given to the employer shall state in plain and simple language the name
and address of the employee and the time, place, nature, and cause of the
accident resulting in injury or death. The notice shall be signed by the
claimant or by some person authorized to sign on the claimant's behalf, or
by any one (1) or more of the claimant's dependents if the accident resulted
in death to the employee.

(3) No defect or inaccuracy in the notice shall be a bar to compensation,
unless the employer can show, to the satisfaction of the workers'
compensation judge before which the matter is pending, that the employer
was prejudiced by the failure to give the proper notice, and then only to the
extent of the prejudice.



(4) The notice shall be given personally to the employer or to the
employer's agent or agents having charge of the business at which the
injury was sustained by the employee.

(b) In those cases where the injuries occur as the result of gradual or
cumulative events or trauma, then the injured employee or the injured
employee's representative shall provide notice of the injury to the employer
- within fifteen (15) days after the employee: :

(1) Knows or reasonably should know that the employee has suffercd a
work-related injury that has resulted in permanent physical impairment; or

(2) Is rendered unable to continue to perform the employee's normal work
activities as the result of the work-related injury and the employee knows or
reasonably should know that the injury was caused by work-related
activities.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-201 (Supp. 2017) (applicable to injuries occurring on or after
July 1, 2016).

To satisfy section 50—6-201, the notice must reasonably convey to the employer
that the wmplsyee has suffered an injury arising out—of and in the -cowrse--of- her
employment. Jones v. Sterling Last Corp., 962 S.W.2d 469, 471 (Tenn. 1998) (citing
Masters v. Indus. Garments Mfz. Co., 595 S.W.2d 811, 816 (Tenn.1980)). “In the
absence of actual knowledge of the injury by the employer, waiver of the notice by the
employer, or reasonable excuse by the employee for not giving notice, the statutory
notice to the employer is an absolute prerequisite to the right of the employee to recover
benefits.” Jones, 962 S.W.2d at 471 (citing Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co. v. Long, 569 S.W.2d
444, 449 (Tenn. 1978) (emphasis added)). The employee carries the burden of proving
that the requisite notice was given or excused. Id. at 448.

2 Throughout the pleadings, the parties occasionally cite to the earlier version of the statute which
includes a thirty-day notice window. However, the legislature reduced the time period to fifteen days for
injuries occurring on or after July 1,2016. Employee claims July 1, 2016, is her date of injury.
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Actual Knowledge

Initially, we note it is undisputed Employee did not give written notice of her
alleged injury in July 2016.> Thus, we first consider whether Employer had actual
knowledge of Employee’s injury. The testimony revealed that Employee worked the
entire day on July 1, 2016, and she gave no indication she may have suffered an injury.
Employee went to her medical doctor the following day; however, she never informed
Ms. McLean or anyone else in the department she was seeing her doctor as a result of the
incident on July 1. '

Employee nonetheless suggests Employer had actual knowledge of her injury
because Employee was approved for family medical leave during July. The leave form
did not indicate that Employee’s condition was attributable to the July 1 incident. In fact,
nothing about the July 2016 family medical leave placed the assistant commissioner on
notice of a work-related injury. Likewise, the family medical leave did not impute
knowledge of the alleged injury to Ms. McLean. According to Ms. McLean, she never
discusses medical issues with an employee, and family medical leave requests are filed
directly with the assistant commissioner. Because Employee had taken family medical
leave on prior occasions for recurring knee/leg issues, Ms. McLean assumed the July
2016 leave was for the same purpose. Furthermore, Employee worked much of August,
September, and October without mention of the July 1 incident or of any resulting mental

or emotional issues:= - o T o

In Nuchols v. Blount County, which was cited with approval by the Commissioner
and which we find persuasive, the panel correctly explained that “an employee who relies
upon alleged actual knowledge of the employer must prove that the employer had actual
knowledge of the time, place, nature and cause of the injury.” No. E2013-00574-WC-
R3-WC, 2014 WL 4656904, *7 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Sept. 19, 2014) (quoting
Masters v. Indus. Garments Mfg. Co., Inc., 595 S.W.2d 811, 815 (Tenn. 1980)).
Employee has failed to show Employer had actual knowledge of any of these aspects of
her injury prior to November 9, 2016.

3 Employee’s counsel candidly admitted during argument at the close of the in-person hearing
that “Up until yesterday, . . . thought we had evidence that [Employee] had reported [the injury] in July.”
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Waiver of Notice

Second, Employee claims Employer waived notice by failing to raise the notice
issue during the benefit review conference. Employee relies solely on Tenn. Code Ann. §
50-6-239(b) which provides that the parties must participate in a benefit review
conference “that addresses all issues related to a final resolution of the matter.”
Employer responds that Employee should have raised waiver before the Claims
Commissioner in her response to Employer’s motion to dismiss, asserting that waiver
cannot be raised for the first time in the appeal to the Panel. We agree.

The notice issue was clearly raised in the Employer’s motion to dismiss, and
testimony was specifically elicited about notice. At the close of the hearing, Employee’s
counsel remarked that the notice issue caught her by surprise. Nonetheless, the
Commissioner gave the parties additional time to submit their respective arguments about
the various components of the notice issue. According to Employer, Employee made
only a brief reference to waiver in her supplemental submissions to the Commissioner
and failed to include supporting law or facts. The supplemental submissions are not
included in the record. Accordingly, we must conclude Employee has failed to establish
Employer’s waiver of notice.

Reasonable Excuse - T EmEeeme

Finally, Employee alternatively claims she had a reasonable excuse for failing to
give notice within fifteen days of the July 1, 2016 incident. More specifically, Employce
suggests that although she saw her personal physician near the time of the reprimand, she
was unaware her suicidal ideations could be attributable to her work injury until she was
hospitalized in November. Relying on other panel decisions, Employee argues notice
was therefore excused until the hospital staff “linked the two.” See, e.g., McCall v. Nat’l
Health Corp., No. M2014-00261-WC-R3-CV, 2006 WL 3177621 (Tenn. Workers’
Comp. Panel Nov. 3, 2006); Craven v. Corr. Corp. of Am., No. W2005-01537-SC-WCM-
CV, 2006 WL 3094121 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Oct. 26, 2006); and Rector v.
Bridgestone (U.S.A.), Inc., No. M1999-02284-WC-R3-CV, 2001 WL 637367 (Tenn.
Workers’” Comp. Panel June 11, 2001).



We agree with the Claims Commissioner that these cases are distinguishable
because those employers had actual or constructive knowledge of the employee’s injury
at or near the time the injury occurred. As noted, we have concluded Employer did not
have actual knowledge of Employee’s injury, and we see no evidence of Employer’s
constructive knowledge. Furthermore, Employee’s assertion she was unaware of her
injury on or about July 1, 2016 is belied by her own testimony of the almost immediate
onset of pervasive suicidal thoughts; the return of her childhood trust issues; her visit to
her medical doctor the following day; and her resulting July 2016 medical leave." Even if
causation was medically confirmed at a later time, Employee was not excused from
giving timely notice of a known injury.

Employee also cursorily suggests she was unable to report her injury, citing her
own testimony and her husband’s testimony that all she could think about was suicide.
However, as Employer observed, the proof established that during this time Employee
performed special tasks for the assistant commissioner, organized attorneys’ files, and, by
all accounts, performed her normal tasks well. We find no merit to this argument.

Finally, Employee argues Employer was not prejudiced by the delayed notice,
citing Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-202 (now found in Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-201(3) (Supp.
2017)). Employer responds that the question of prejudice is outside the scope of this
appeal, adding the prejudice consideration only applies when an employee provides some
type of notice to the employer, but the notice is deemed defective or inaccurate. These
arguments were not adequately developed below, and the Commissioner did not speak to
the issue. Because the issue is not squarely presented, we cannot excuse the notice
requirement on this basis.

The Commissioner concluded there was no credible evidence Employer knew of
Employee’s alleged mental injury before November 9, 2016. Having reviewed the entire
record, we also conclude Employee presented no evidence Employer had any type of
notice of a July 1, 2016 injury prior to Employee filing her claim. Likewise, Employer

1 Employee maintains the Commissioner incorrectly suggested she was aware her injury was
work-related in July 2016 based on a letter from Dr. Mertens which Employee claims was not created
until May 18, 2017. Based on our review of the record and the Commissioner’s order, we do not agree
the Commissioner clearly made an erroneous factual finding or that any perceived error changes the
result.
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Commissioner’s findings.  We conclude the Commissioner properly dismissed
Employee’s claim for failure to satisfy the notice requirement of Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-
6-201.°

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the Claims Commissioner is affirmed.
Costs of this appeal are assessed to Ms. Shores for which execution may issue, if
necessary.

ROSS H. HICKS, JUDGE

. Employer raised an alternative issue, arguing the Commissioner had a second ground for
dismissal based on Employee’s failure to request alternative dispute resolution within 90 days of the
denial of her claim. This issue, however, is pretermitted by our holding herein.
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