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FACTS

In February 2011, the Knox County Grand Jury returned a two-count indictment, 
charging the Defendant with possession of more than one-half gram of cocaine with intent 
to sell in count one and the alternative theory of possession of more than one-half gram of 
cocaine with intent to deliver in count two.  The counts alleged that the offenses occurred
in May 2010 and within 1,000 feet of a public elementary school.  

At the time of the offenses, the Drug-Free Zone Act provided that a violation of 
Tennessee Code Annotated section 39-17-417 that occurred within 1,000 feet of the real 
property that comprised a public or private elementary school, middle school, secondary 
school, preschool, child care agency, public library, recreational center, or park required
that a defendant be punished one classification higher than the statute provided for the 
offense.  Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-17-432(b)(1) (2010).  The defendant also was required to 
pay certain fines based on the class of felony and was required to serve at least the 
minimum sentence for the defendant’s appropriate range of sentence.  Tenn. Code Ann. §
39-17-432(b)(2), (c) (2010).  A defendant convicted of violating Tennessee Code 
Annotated section 39-17-417 near a preschool, childcare center, public library, recreational 
center, or park was subject to the additional fines but not “additional incarceration.”  Tenn. 
Code Ann. § 39-17-432(b)(3) (2010).  Thus, a defendant convicted of violating Tennessee 
Code Annotated section 39-17-417 near a preschool, childcare center, public library, 
recreational center, or park was not subject to the one-class enhancement but was subject 
to the mandatory minimum sentencing requirements.  State v. Linville, 647 S.W.3d 344, 
355 (Tenn. 2022).

On December 9, 2011, the then fifty-one-year-old Defendant pled guilty to 
possession of more than one-half gram of cocaine with intent to sell in count one.  At the 
guilty plea hearing, the State gave the following factual account of the crime:  On May 
25th, 2010, Officers Earlywine and Dabbelt of the Knoxville Police Department (“KPD”) 
were on patrol in the area of Reed Street and Baxter Avenue when they saw the Defendant 
leaning into a vehicle that was blocking the roadway.  The officers approached the vehicle, 
and Officer Dabbelt observed the Defendant exchange a clear baggie of what appeared to 
be crack cocaine for money.  The officer also saw the Defendant drop a rock of crack 
cocaine and pick it up. The officers searched the Defendant incident to arrest and found a 
large, clear bag containing a white substance, which appeared to be crack cocaine, in his
left front pants pocket.  The white substance was individually packaged in separate baggies 
for resale, and the Defendant admitted that he was selling crack cocaine so he could buy a 
vehicle to find a job.  The officers also found $491, which was consistent with street-level 
drug sales, on the Defendant’s person.  The field weight of the crack cocaine was 3.3 grams, 
and the weight of the cocaine at the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation Crime Laboratory 
was 2.3 grams.  The offense occurred within 1,000 feet of Beaumont Elementary School.
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At the conclusion of the hearing, the State advised the trial court that “we have 
agreed that this is a Range I standard sentence despite the record [as] a way of holding 
down a minimum.”  The trial court accepted the Defendant’s guilty plea.  Although the 
offense ordinarily was a Class B felony, the offense was a Class A felony under the Drug-
Free Zone Act.  Pursuant to the plea agreement, the Defendant received a fifteen-year 
sentence, the minimum punishment in the range, to be served consecutively to six years 
remaining on a prior sentence for which he was on parole at the time of the offense, and 
count two was dismissed.  See Tenn. Code. Ann. § 40-35-112(a)(1).  The Defendant was 
statutorily required to serve the fifteen-year sentence at one hundred percent.  

In 2020, our legislature made it more difficult to trigger the Drug-Free Zone Act by 
reducing the drug-free zone around the real property at issue from 1,000 feet to 500 feet. 
See Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-17-432(b)(1)(B) (2020).  Additionally, the previous Drug-Free 
Zone Act’s requirements that a defendant be punished one classification higher, pay 
additional fines, and serve at least the minimum sentence for the defendant’s appropriate 
range of sentence became discretionary.  See Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-17-432(b)(1), (b)(2), 
(c)(1) (2020).  Finally, the 2020 amendments to the Drug-Free Zone Act created a 
rebuttable presumption that a defendant was not required to serve the minimum sentence 
for the defendant’s appropriate range of sentence at one hundred percent but provided that 
the presumption was overcome if the trial court found that the defendant’s conduct 
“exposed vulnerable persons to the distractions and dangers that are incident to the 
occurrence of illegal drug activity.”  Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-17-432(c)(2) (2020).  

Public Chapter 803, section 12 of the Public Act specified that the 2020 amendments 
to the Drug-Free Zone Act were to apply to offenses committed on or after September 1, 
2020.  Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-17-432 (2020), Compiler’s Notes.  Because the amendments 
were not retroactive, our legislature enacted Tennessee Code Annotated section 39-17-
432(h).  The new subsection (h), which became effective April 29, 2022, allows defendants 
sentenced for offenses committed before September 1, 2020, to file a motion for 
resentencing under the amended version of the Drug-Free Zone Act.  Specifically, the new 
subsection reads as follows:

(1)  Notwithstanding subsection (d) or (e) or any other law to the contrary, 
the court that imposed a sentence for an offense committed under this section 
that occurred prior to September 1, 2020, may, upon motion of the defendant 
or the district attorney general or the court’s own motion, resentence the 
defendant pursuant to subsections (a)-(g).  The court shall hold an evidentiary 
hearing on the motion, at which the defendant and district attorney general 
may present evidence. The defendant shall bear the burden of proof to show 
that the defendant would be sentenced to a shorter period of confinement 
under this section if the defendant’s offense had occurred on or after 
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September 1, 2020.  The court shall not resentence the defendant if the new 
sentence would be greater than the sentence originally imposed or if the court 
finds that resentencing the defendant would not be in the interests of justice. 
In determining whether a new sentence would be in the interests of justice, 
the court may consider:

(A)  The defendant’s criminal record, including 
subsequent criminal convictions;

(B)  The defendant’s behavior while incarcerated;

(C)  The circumstances surrounding the offense, 
including, but not limited to, whether the conviction was 
entered into pursuant to a plea deal; and

(D)  Any other factors the court deems relevant.

(2)  If the court finds that the defendant is indigent, using the criteria 
set out in § 40-14-202(c), the court shall appoint counsel to represent the 
defendant on such a motion.

(3)  The court shall not entertain a motion made under this subsection 
(h) to resentence a defendant if:

(A)  A previous motion made under this subsection (h) 
to reduce the sentence was denied after a review of the motion 
on the merits;

(B)  Resentencing the defendant to a shorter period of 
confinement for this offense would not reduce the defendant’s 
overall sentence or lead to an earlier release; or

(C)  The defendant has previously applied to the 
governor for a grant of executive clemency on or after 
December 2, 2021, for the same offense and has been denied.

(4)  This subsection (h) does not require a court to reduce any sentence 
pursuant to this section.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-17-432(h) (2022).
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On June 27, 2022, the Defendant, through counsel, filed a motion to reduce his 
sentence pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated section 39-17-432(h).  The State filed a 
response, requesting that the trial court deny the motion.  The State argued that the
Defendant could not show he would have been sentenced to a shorter period of confinement
if the offense had occurred on or after September 1, 2020.  Relevant to that argument, the 
State acknowledged that the offense occurred more than five hundred feet from Beaumont 
Elementary School.  However, the State asserted that the offense occurred within five 
hundred feet of Reed and Baxter Park; therefore, the sentencing enhancement for a drug-
free park zone would have applied even if the sentencing enhancement for a drug-free 
school zone did not apply.  The State also asserted that reduction of the sentence was not 
in the interests of justice because the Defendant was selling crack cocaine in front of a 
playground, he entered into a negotiated plea agreement in which he was allowed to plead 
guilty as a Range I offender and serve a sentence “at the bottom of the Range,” he had five 
prior felony drug convictions and was on parole at the time of the offense, and he had three 
disciplinary infractions while incarcerated in 2007.

The trial court held a hearing on August 26, 2022.  At the outset of the hearing, the 
Defendant introduced into evidence a copy of his criminal history and a certificate showing 
he graduated from the “Wings program.”  The State introduced into evidence “three 
screenshots from videos from the arrest in question”; the State’s 2011 Notice of Enhanced 
Punishment, showing five prior felony drug convictions for the Defendant; the Defendant’s 
disciplinary history for the Knox County Sheriff’s Office, showing three jail violations in 
2007; aerial maps, showing the area of Reed Street and Baxter Avenue; and Google street-
view maps, showing Reed and Baxter Park.

Officer Michael Dabbelt of the KPD testified that on May 25, 2010, he “happened 
upon Mr. Watson leaning into a vehicle or near a vehicle” and that “[f]urther investigation
revealed a large amount of currency and what was later identified as crack cocaine.”  
Officer Dabbelt acknowledged that the incident occurred near Reed and Baxter Park, and 
he identified a screenshot of the park in 2010.  The screenshot showed a swing set in the 
park.  The State asked if Officer Dabbelt frequently saw children in the area of the park, 
and he responded, “I couldn’t say . . . that I’ve seen children in that particular park, just 
based on my memory.”  The State asked if he ever saw children in the neighborhood, and 
he said yes.

On cross-examination, Officer Dabbelt acknowledged that on May 25, 2010, he was 
in “field training” and was being supervised by Officer Earlywine.  He also acknowledged 
that the Defendant was standing outside the vehicle in question and that two women were 
inside the vehicle.  Officer Dabbelt searched the Defendant, and the Defendant was 
cooperative during the search.
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At the conclusion of the hearing, defense counsel advised the trial court that the 
Defendant was a Range II, multiple offender.  Defense counsel stated that the Defendant 
accepted the State’s plea offer of fifteen years as a Range I, standard offender to be served 
at one hundred percent because he was facing “significant time” of twenty-five to forty 
years for the offense, which was a Class A felony under the previous version of the drug-
free zone statute.  Defense counsel noted that although the Defendant would have been 
facing twelve to twenty years for a Class B felony under the new drug-free zone statute, 
the trial court could not resentence him if the new sentence would be greater than the 
sentence originally imposed.  The trial court asked, “So 20 at 35 percent versus 15 [at] a 
hundred percent, is that a harsher punishment?”  Defense counsel answered that any 
increase in the number of years, even at thirty-five percent release eligibility, would be a 
harsher punishment because the Defendant may not make parole.  The trial court asked if 
it could sentence the Defendant “to 15 with the first 8 at a hundred” for committing the 
offense within a drug-free park zone but corrected itself, stating, “It’d actually be the first 
12 at a hundred.”  Defense counsel said the trial court could not sentence the Defendant for 
committing the offense in a drug-free park zone because the indictment did not allege a 
park zone.  Defense counsel suggested that the trial court resentence the Defendant to 
twelve or fifteen years as a Range II, multiple offender, meaning his release eligibility 
would be thirty-five percent.

The State argued that the trial court could consider that the offense occurred within
a drug-free park zone because the new statute provided that the court could consider “any 
other relevant factor” in its decision to reduce the Defendant’s sentence.  The State also 
argued that the trial court should consider that the Defendant had been on parole just sixty-
four days for a prior offense of selling cocaine when he committed the offense in this case.

The trial court noted that the Defendant “negotiated an agreement to resolve and 
work his way out of a very bad situation” and that he was on parole at the time of the 
offense.  Accordingly, the trial court found that his fifteen-year sentence was “appropriate.”  
The trial court also found that “in the interest of justice, the State has shown that this was 
within a park zone.”  The trial court stated that it was “going to fashion a sentence here that 
both of you are going to appeal me on” and ordered that the Defendant serve the first eight 
years of the fifteen-year sentence at one hundred percent “because he was not ever put on 
Range II notice for the actual zone violation of a park zone.  So I’m going to go down to 
Range I.”  The trial court ordered that the Defendant serve the balance of the fifteen-year 
sentence at thirty-five percent release eligibility.  The following colloquy then occurred:

[Defense counsel]:  I’m sorry.  I don’t mean to be annoying, Judge.  I 
do have a question about your ruling.  You said you were going to go down 
to a Range I, which is 8 -- I mean 8 to 12.  Would you not then put the 
remainder of his sentence on 30 percent? 
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THE COURT:  That’s true -- no.  It’s a Range II sentence.  I’m doing 
that because he wasn’t placed on notice of Range II status for the zone 
violation.  It’s a Range II sentence.  But I’m giving him the benefit of the 
doubt that he wasn’t indicted for the park zone.  So I’m going to do 8 at 100 
percent with the balance of the 15 years to be served with a 35 percent release 
eligibility.

The trial court entered an amended judgment, which reflected the Defendant’s
sentence of fifteen years as a Range II, multiple offender convicted of a Class B felony.  
The following appears in the “Special Conditions” box of the amended judgment:

COUNT 2 IS DISMISSED PER THE PLEA AGREEMENT.  AMENDED 
JUDGMENT SUBMITTED AFTER RESENTENCING HEARING 
PURSUANT TO TCA 39-17-432(H).  DUE TO THE INTEREST OF 
JUSTICE, DEFENDANT TO SERVE 8 YEARS AT 100% SERVICE 
RATE DUE TO PARK ZONE IN VICINITY OF THE SALE BUT THE 
BALANCE OF THE 15 YEARS TO BE SERVED AS A RANGE II 
OFFENDER WITH A 35% RELEASE ELIGIBILITY DATE. 

The Defendant appeals the ruling of the trial court.

ANALYSIS

The Defendant, anticipating that the State would argue we should dismiss his appeal 
because this court lacks jurisdiction under Tennessee Rule of Appellate Procedure 3(b), 
contends that an appeal as of right lies in this case because the trial court entered an 
amended judgment of conviction that reflects an illegal sentence.  Alternatively, he
contends that if he does not have an appeal as of right, we should treat his appeal as a 
petition for the common law writ of certiorari.  Under either avenue, the Defendant claims 
that we must vacate the amended judgment and remand the case for imposition of a lawful 
sentence.  The State argues that neither Tennessee Rule of Appellate Procedure 3(b) nor 
Tennessee Code Annotated section 39-17-432 provide for an appeal as of right and that, 
even if the Defendant’s sentence is illegal, which it is not, he is not entitled to relief because 
he can seek to correct his illegal sentence pursuant to Tennessee Rule of Criminal 
Procedure 36.1.  

I.  Appeal as of Right

First, we must determine whether this court has jurisdiction over the Defendant’s 
appeal.  “[P]arties in criminal cases do not always have an appeal as of right under the 
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Rules of Appellate Procedure.”  State v. Lane, 254 S.W.3d 349, 352 (Tenn. 2008).  
Tennessee Rule of Appellate Procedure 3(b) provides:

In criminal actions an appeal as of right by a defendant lies from any 
judgment of conviction entered by a trial court from which an appeal lies to 
the Supreme Court or Court of Criminal Appeals: (1) on a plea of not guilty; 
and (2) on a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, if the defendant entered into a 
plea agreement but explicitly reserved the right to appeal a certified question 
of law dispositive of the case pursuant to and in compliance with the 
requirements of Rule 37(b)(2)(A) or (D) of the Tennessee Rules of Criminal 
Procedure, or if the defendant seeks review of the sentence and there was no 
plea agreement concerning the sentence, or if the issues presented for review 
were not waived as a matter of law by the plea of guilty or nolo contendere 
and if such issues are apparent from the record of the proceedings already 
had.  The defendant may also appeal as of right from an order denying or 
revoking probation; an order denying a motion for reduction of sentence 
pursuant to Rule 35(d), Tennessee Rules of Criminal Procedure; an order or 
judgment pursuant to Rule 36 or Rule 36.1, Tennessee Rules of Criminal 
Procedure; from a final judgment in a criminal contempt, habeas corpus, 
extradition, or post-conviction proceedings; from a final order on a request 
for expunction; and from the denial of a motion to withdraw a guilty plea 
under Rule 32(f), Tennessee Rules of Criminal Procedure.

Recently, this court held in State v. Daryl Bobo, -- S.W.3d--, No. W2022-01567-
CCA-R3-CD, 2023 WL 3947500, at *4 (Tenn. Crim. App. June 12, 2023), that a defendant 
did not have an appeal as of right from a trial court’s denial of a motion for resentencing
because such an appeal was not enumerated in Rule 3(b).  As this court explained,

Rule 3(b) does not specifically provide for an appeal as of right from 
an order denying resentencing pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-17-432(h) 
(2022).  A defendant in a criminal case has no appeal as of right unless it is 
enumerated in Rule 3(b).  [State v. Rowland, 520 S.W.3d 542, 545 (Tenn. 
2017)]; see also [Lane, 254 S.W.3d at 353] (holding there is no appeal as of 
right from an order denying a defendant’s motion to modify a condition of 
probation); Moody v. State, 160 S.W.3d 512, 516 (Tenn. 2005) (holding the 
defendant (in a case decided prior to the amendment of Rule 3(b) to allow 
for an appeal as of right for orders under Tennessee Rule of Criminal 
Procedure Rule 36) did not have an appeal as of right from the dismissal of 
a Rule 36 motion to correct an illegal sentence); State v. James Frederick 
Hegel, No. E2015-00953-CCA-R3-CO, 2016 WL 3078657, at *1-2 (Tenn. 
Crim. App. May 23, 2016) (ruling the defendant had no right to appeal the 
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denial of his motion to suspend court costs); State v. Cedric Moses, No. 
W2011-01448-CCA-R3-CD, 2011 WL 6916487, at *1-2 (Tenn. Crim. App. 
Dec. 28, 2011) (holding the defendant did not have a Rule 3 appeal as of right 
from an order denying his motion to reinstate probation); State v. Jay Bean, 
No. M2009-02059-CCA-R3-CD, 2011 WL 917038, at *2 (Tenn. Crim. App. 
Mar. 16, 2011) (holding a defendant has no right of appeal from an order 
denying his motion for a furlough); State v. Childress, 298 S.W.3d 184, 186 
(Tenn. Crim. App. 2009) (holding a defendant cannot appeal from an order 
allowing the State to nolle prosequi the charges against him); State v. Thomas 
Coggins, No. M2008-00104-CCA-R3-CD, 2009 WL 482491, at *3-4 (Tenn. 
Crim. App. Feb. 25, 2009) (ruling a defendant has no appeal as of right from 
an order denying a new probation revocation hearing); Richard Simon v. 
State, No. M2003-03008-CCA-R3-PC, 2005 WL 366893, at *2 (Tenn. Crim. 
App. Feb. 16, 2005) (holding the defendant had no appeal as of right from an 
order denying sentencing credits); Gary Maurice Sexton v. State, No. E2003-
00910-CCA-R3-PC, 2004 WL 50788, at *3 (Tenn. Crim. App. Jan. 12, 2004) 
(holding a defendant did not have the right to appeal the denial of a motion 
for “credit for time at liberty”).

Neither Rule 3 nor the most recent amendment to Tenn. Code Ann. § 
39-17-432(h) (2022) provides for an appeal as of right for the defendant. 
Therefore, we conclude that the defendant does not have an appeal as of right 
in this matter and that the instant appeal is not properly before us and should 
be dismissed.

Daryl Bobo, -- S.W.3d --, No. W2022-01567-CCA-R3-CD, 2023 WL 3947500, at *4; see
State v. Billingsley, No. E2022-01419-CCA-R3-CD, 2023 WL 4417531, at *6 (Tenn. 
Crim. App. July 10, 2023) (agreeing with this court’s reasoning in Daryl Bobo and 
concluding that defendant did not have an appeal as of right from denial of motion for 
resentencing filed pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-17-432(h) (2022)).

The present case, though, is unique and distinguishable from Darryl Bobo and the 
opinions cited therein because the trial court in this case granted the Defendant’s motion 
for resentencing, pronounced a reduced sentence, and entered an amended judgment of 
conviction.  Relevant to this case, Rule 3(b) provides that an appeal as of right

lies from any judgment of conviction entered by a trial court from which an 
appeal lies to the Supreme Court or Court of Criminal Appeals . . . on a plea 
of guilty or nolo contendere . . . if the issues presented for review were not 
waived as a matter of law by the plea of guilty or nolo contendere and if such 
issues are apparent from the record of the proceedings already had.
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Tenn. R. App. P. (emphasis added).  Although the Defendant entered a guilty plea and his 
original judgment of conviction became final years ago, the Tennessee legislature took the 
unprecedented step of amending Tennessee Code Annotated section 39-17-432 to allow 
defendants sentenced for conduct occurring within a drug-free zone before September 1, 
2020, to move for resentencing.  The issue of the trial court’s imposing an illegal sentence 
pursuant to such resentencing was not waived as a matter of law by the Defendant’s guilty 
plea and, as we will explain below, the illegality of the new sentence is apparent from the 
record. Accordingly, under the circumstances of this case, we conclude that the Defendant 
has a Rule 3(b) appeal as of right from the resentencing judgment entered by the trial court.  

II.  Illegal Sentence

The Defendant claims that his new sentence is illegal because fifteen years to be 
served as eight years at one hundred percent and the remainder at thirty-five percent release 
eligibility is not authorized for a Range II offender convicted of a Class B felony, even if 
the trial court could order mandatory minimum sentencing pursuant to the Drug-Free Zone 
Act.  The Defendant also claims that the trial court improperly imposed one hundred 
percent service of part of the sentence based on the offense occurring within a drug-free 
park zone because he was not indicted for a park-zone offense and because the rebuttable 
presumption against mandatory minimum sentencing was not overcome.  The State argues
that the Defendant’s reduced sentence is not illegal because, at most, it includes an out-of-
range sentence, which Tennessee courts have held is permissible.  Moreover, the State 
argues that although a drug-free park zone was not alleged in the indictment, the trial court 
could consider “all relevant factors” in resentencing and that the trial court’s ruling 
demonstrates it found the rebuttable presumption against mandatory minimum sentencing 
had been overcome.  Finally, the State argues that even if the Defendant’s sentence is 
illegal, we should not allow him to use the trial court’s error for “a second bite at the 
sentencing apple” because the error was to his benefit. 

Persons who commit felonies or misdemeanors in Tennessee must be sentenced 
pursuant to the provisions of the Criminal Sentencing Reform Act of 1989.  Tenn. Code 
Ann. § 40-35-104(a).  Furthermore, new subsection (h) of Tennessee Code Annotated 
section 39-17-432 states that if a trial court resentences a defendant, the court must do so 
in accordance with subsections (a)-(g) of the statute.  Tenn. Code Ann. § 40-35-432(h)(1)
(2022).

An illegal sentence is “‘one that is not authorized by the applicable statutes or that 
directly contravenes an applicable statute.’”  State v. Wooden, 478 S.W.3d 585, 594 (Tenn. 
2015).  “[F]ew sentencing errors render sentences illegal.”  Id. at 595.  One example of a 
fatal sentencing error that renders a sentence is illegal and void is a sentence imposed 
pursuant to an inapplicable statutory scheme.  Id.  Whether a sentence is illegal is a question 
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of law that we review de novo.  State v. June Curtis Loudermilk, No. W2015-00222-CCA-
R3-CD, 2016 WL 81292, at *1 (Tenn. Crim. App. Jan. 6, 2016) (citing State v. Dusty Ross 
Binkley, No. M2014-01173-CCA-R3-CD, 2015 WL 2148950, at *2 (Tenn. Crim. App. 
May 7, 2015) (stating that review of a sentence pursuant to Tenn. R. Crim. P. 36.1 is de 
novo with no presumption of correctness) (citing Summers v. State, 212 S.W.3d 251, 255 
(Tenn. 2007) (reviewing whether a sentence is illegal for purposes of habeas corpus relief
de novo))).

Here, the offense was a Class B felony, and the Defendant was a Range II, multiple
offender.  While the range of punishment for a Class B felony is eight to thirty years, the 
range of punishment for a Range II offender convicted of a Class B felony is twelve to 
twenty years.  See Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 40-35-111(b)(2), -112(b)(2).  Therefore, the 
Defendant’s fifteen-year sentence is statutorily authorized.  The release eligibility for a 
Range II, multiple offender, though, “shall occur after service of thirty-five percent (35%) 
of the actual sentence imposed less sentence credits earned and retained by the defendant.”  
Tenn. Code Ann. § 40-35-501(d).  Tennessee Code Annotated section 39-17-432(d) also 
provides that

[n]otwithstanding the sentence imposed by the court, title 40, chapter 35, part 
5, relative to release eligibility status and parole does not apply to or 
authorize the release of a defendant sentenced for a violation of subsection 
(b), and required under subsection (c) to serve at least the minimum sentence 
for the defendant’s appropriate range of sentence, prior to service of the 
entire minimum sentence for the defendant’s appropriate range of sentence.

(Emphasis added.)  The Defendant’s fifteen-year sentence to be served as eight years at 
one hundred percent, followed by seven years at thirty-five percent, is not authorized by 
either statute.  

Granted, a defendant who pleads guilty can knowingly and voluntarily waive “any 
irregularity as to offender classification or release eligibility” so as to receive a sentence 
with the length in one range and a release eligibility for a different range.  Hicks v. State, 
945 S.W.2d 706, 709 (Tenn. 1997).  However, the Defendant did not knowingly and 
voluntarily agree to any sentencing irregularity in this case.  Similarly, while this court 
recently denied relief on a Rule 36.1 motion to correct an illegal sentence when a defendant 
“clearly benefitted” from the illegal sentence, the illegal sentence was part of a bargained-
for plea agreement.  See State v. Juan Lesean Perry, No. M2022-00220-CCA-R3-CD, 2023 
WL 2700093, at *3 (Tenn. Crim. App. Mar. 30, 2023), perm. app. denied (Tenn. Aug. 9, 
2023); Tenn. R. Crim. P. 36.1(c)(3)(B).  Again, the Defendant did not agree to the illegal 
sentence in this case.  
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As to the trial court’s ordering that the Defendant serve part of the sentence at one 
hundred percent based on his committing the offense in a drug-free park zone, we note that
“the enhanced penalty is triggered if the jury determines beyond a reasonable doubt that 
any part of the sale or possession occurred in a drug free zone.”  State v. Alfred Maron 
Williams, et al., No. E2018-00670-CCA-R3-CD, 2020 WL 2120088, at *17 (Tenn. Crim. 
App. May 4, 2020) (quoting State v. Jaimes-Garcia, No. M2009-00891-CCA-R3-CD, 
2010 WL 5343286, at *18 (Tenn. Crim. App. Dec. 22, 2010)).  The indictment alleged that 
the offense occurred within one thousand feet of a drug-free school zone, and the Defendant 
stipulated at the guilty plea hearing to committing the offense within a school zone, not a 
park zone.  Additionally, while the State presented evidence that the offense occurred 
within a park zone, the State did not present any evidence that the Defendant’s conduct 
exposed vulnerable persons to the distractions and dangers that are incident to the 
occurrence of illegal drug activity.  Therefore, the rebuttable presumption that the 
Defendant was not required to serve at least the minimum sentence in the range was not
overcome.  For the reasons stated, to the extent that the trial court relied upon the park-
zone finding to require that the eight-year portion of the sentence be served at 100-percent 
pursuant to section 39-17-432(c)(1), it did so improperly.

However, Tennessee Code Annotated section 39-17-432(h)(1)(D) allows a trial 
court to consider “[a]ny other factors the court deems relevant” when determining “whether 
a new sentence would be in the interests of justice.”  Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-17-432(h)(1).  
The statute thus allows the trial court to consider the park-zone issue inasmuch as it is 
relevant to deciding whether the interests of justice call for resentencing. 

In light of the foregoing, the illegal sentence imposed by the trial court is reversed 
and vacated.  On remand, the trial court shall follow the procedures set forth in Tennessee 
Code Annotated section 39-17-432(h)(1).  If the trial court deems that resentencing is 
warranted pursuant to the statute, it shall sentence the Defendant, a Range II offender, to a 
term of twelve to fifteen years at a thirty-five percent service rate.  See Tenn. Code Ann. §
39-17-432(h)(1) (“[t]he court shall not resentence the defendant if the new sentence would 
be greater than the sentence originally imposed”).  If, on the other hand, the trial court finds 
that resentencing the Defendant would not be in the interests of justice based upon the 
statutory considerations, it shall deny the Defendant’s motion and leave the original 
sentence in place.
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CONCLUSION

Based upon the oral arguments, the record, and the parties’ briefs, we conclude that 
the Defendant’s sentence is illegal.  Therefore, the judgment of the trial court is reversed 
and vacated, and the case is remanded to the trial court for further proceedings consistent 
with this opinion.

_________________________________
JOHN W. CAMPBELL, SR., JUDGE


