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The State appealed the trial court’s application of the Criminal Savings Statute to the 
Defendant’s conviction for “Theft over $500,” arguing that the court improperly imposed 
a misdemeanor sentence for the Defendant’s guilty plea to Class E felony theft and that 
the amendments to the theft grading statute changed the elements of the offense, rather 
than the punishment for the offense.  See T.C.A. §§ 39-14-103 (2014) (generic theft
statute), 39-14-105 (2014) (amended 2017) (theft grading statute).  Upon review, a 
majority of this court dismissed the appeal after concluding that the State had no appeal 
as of right under Tennessee Rule of Appellate Procedure 3 or Tennessee Code Annotated 
section 40-35-402.  State v. Harley Crosland, No. M2017-01232-CCA-R3-CD, 2018 WL 
3092903 (Tenn. Crim. App. June 21, 2018), perm. app. granted and case remanded, No. 
M2017-01232-SC-R11-CD (Tenn. Dec. 5, 2019) (order). On December 5, 2019, the 
Tennessee Supreme Court granted the State’s application for permission to appeal and 
remanded the case to this court for reconsideration in light of the supreme court’s opinion 
in State v. Menke, No. M2017-00597-SC-R11-CD, ___ S.W.3d ___, 2019 WL 6336427 
(Tenn. Nov. 27, 2019).  Harley Crosland, No. M2017-01232-SC-R11-CD (Tenn. Dec. 5, 
2019) (order). Upon further review, we affirm the trial court’s imposition of a sentence 
of eleven months and twenty-nine days for the Defendant’s theft conviction, we reverse 
the portion of the judgment stating that this theft conviction is a Class E felony, and we 
remand the case to the trial court for entry of a corrected judgment form reflecting that 
the Defendant’s amended offense and conviction offense are theft of property valued at 
$1,000 or less and that this theft conviction constitutes a Class A misdemeanor.    

Tenn. R. App. P. 3 Appeal as of Right; Judgment of the Circuit Court Affirmed in 
Part, Reversed in Part, and Remanded

CAMILLE R. MCMULLEN, J., delivered the opinion of the court, in which NORMA MCGEE 

OGLE and TIMOTHY L. EASTER, JJ., joined.  
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Attorney General; Kim R. Helper, District Attorney General; and Stacey Edmonson and 
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OPINION ON REMAND

The facts of this case are not in dispute.  Between July 2, 2016 and July 5, 2016, 
the Defendant, Harley Crosland, broke into the Lewis County Landfill office and stole 
several items, including a chainsaw, muzzleloader rifle, handheld scanner, and two laptop 
computers.  The police later found one of the stolen items in a room where the Defendant 
was staying, and the Defendant eventually admitted to breaking into the landfill and
stealing the items, which were valued at more than $500 but less than $1,000.  The Lewis 
County Grand Jury charged the Defendant with one count of theft of property valued at 
“at least $500 but less than $1,000” and one count of burglary.  At the time the Defendant 
committed the theft crime, the theft grading statute in effect classified the Defendant’s 
offense as a Class E felony.  See T.C.A. § 39-14-105 (2014).  On January 1, 2017, the 
Public Safety Act, which changed the values required for Class A misdemeanor, Class E 
felony, and Class D felony theft, became effective.  2016 Tenn. Pub. Acts, ch. 906, sec. 5.  
As a result of this new act, thefts of property valued at $1,000 or less became Class A 
misdemeanors.  Id.; Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-14-105(a)(1) (Supp. 2017).      

At the March 8, 2017 hearing, the Defendant attempted to plead guilty to theft of 
property valued “[o]ver $500” and attempted burglary in exchange for concurrent three 
year sentences as a Range II, multiple offender pursuant to a plea agreement.1  The trial 
court asserted that the “change in the [theft grading] statute was to lower the maximum 
sentence” by “chang[ing] the grade of the offense.”  The court then questioned whether 
the Defendant should “get the benefit of that change so that [his sentence] would now be 
capped at 11/29.”  Both the State and defense counsel replied that the Defendant should 
be sentenced for his theft conviction pursuant to the law in effect at the time of the 
offense, which was prior to the effective date of the amendments to the theft grading 
statute.  Ultimately, the trial court, in light of its concerns about the applicability of the 
amendments to the theft grading statute, declined to accept the Defendant’s guilty plea 
and continued the case.  

                                           
1 At the March 8, 2017 hearing, the Defendant also entered several guilty pleas in two unrelated

cases and conceded that he had violated his probation in another case.  Because these other cases are not 
part of this appeal, we will not include them in our analysis.  



- 3 -

On April 5, 2017, the Defendant, pursuant to a plea agreement, entered an “open”
guilty plea as a Range II, multiple offender to theft of property valued at more than $500
but less than $1,000 and attempted burglary, with the trial court to determine the length 
of his concurrent, incarcerative sentences following a sentencing hearing.  The court 
asked the parties to submit briefs on whether the theft conviction “should be sentenced as 
a misdemeanor as opposed to a felony” and reset the case for sentencing.  

At the May 17, 2017 sentencing hearing, the trial court noted that the Defendant 
had committed the theft offense prior to the effective date of the amendments to the theft 
grading statute.  The court said, “I believe that the only way for the [c]ourt to apply all of 
[the law,] including [the Criminal S]aving[s] Statute, is to treat the conviction as a felony 
conviction, but the sentence that I am able to impose is capped as 11/29.”  It added, “I 
think the [D]efendant gets the benefit of the reduction in the sentence, but the 
classification of the offense remains unchanged.”  The trial court then imposed a sentence 
of eleven months and twenty-nine days for the theft conviction and a concurrent sentence
of three years for the attempted burglary conviction.  The judgment reflected that the 
Defendant’s theft conviction was a Class E felony.  Following entry of these judgments, 
the State filed a timely notice of appeal.  

The State, on appeal, argued that the trial court had improperly imposed a 
misdemeanor sentence for the Defendant’s felony theft conviction.  It claimed that the 
Criminal Savings Statute did not apply because the amendments to the theft grading 
statute changed the elements of the theft offense and the Defendant’s offense was based 
on the prior version of the theft statute.  The State asserted that the Defendant had been 
properly convicted of a felony but had improperly received a sentence “below the 
authorized range.”          

A majority of this court dismissed the appeal after concluding that the State had no 
appeal as of right under Tennessee Rule of Appellate Procedure 3 or Tennessee Code 
Annotated section 40-35-402.  Harley Crosland, 2018 WL 3092903, at *2-3.  Thereafter, 
the Tennessee Supreme Court granted the State’s application for permission to appeal and 
remanded the case to this court for reconsideration in light of the supreme court’s opinion 
in State v. Menke.  Harley Crosland, No. M2017-01232-SC-R11-CD (Tenn. Dec. 5, 
2019) (order).  

ANALYSIS

On remand, we must consider this case in light of supreme court’s opinion in 
Menke, which held that Code section 40-35-402(b)(1) provides the State with the 
authority to appeal the trial court’s application of the amended version of the theft 
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grading statute and that the Criminal Savings Statute applies to the amendments to the 
theft grading statute.  Menke, ___ S.W.3d at ___, 2019 WL 6336427, at *8, *11.    

In Menke, the Tennessee Supreme Court first considered “[w]hether the State may 
pursue an appeal as of right from the trial court’s application of the Criminal Savings 
Statute, codified at Tennessee Code Annotated section 39-11-112, in sentencing the 
defendant for theft offenses that were committed before the effective date of the 
amendments to Tennessee Code Annotated section 39-14-105.”  Id. at *3.  In that case, 
the State filed a notice of appeal to the Court of Criminal Appeals, citing Code section 
40-35-402(b) as its authority to appeal, and the defendant argued that Tennessee Rule of 
Appellate Procedure 3 was the exclusive source of the State’s right to appeal.  Id. at *4-5.  
The Tennessee Supreme Court, in considering this jurisdictional issue, recognized that 
the State’s argument actually concerned the offense classification because the State 
claimed that the defendant was improperly sentenced for a Class A misdemeanor rather 
than a Class D felony.  Id. at *7.  The court noted that “[a] trial court’s improper 
application of either the offender classification or the offense classification will directly 
result in a ‘wrong sentence range.’”  Id. at *8.  It then concluded that because the appeal 
involved offense classification, it necessarily involved sentence range.  Id.  Accordingly, 
the Tennessee Supreme Court agreed with the determination of the Court of Criminal 
Appeals that Code section 40-35-402(b)(1) served as a basis for appellate jurisdiction in 
that case.  Id. Applying the Menke holding regarding jurisdiction to the Defendant’s
case, we conclude that Code section 40-35-402(b)(1) likewise serves as the State’s 
authority to appeal.   

The Tennessee Supreme Court in Menke also considered whether the amendments 
to the theft grading statute in Code section 39-14-105 are applicable when the 
defendant’s offense occurred before the amendments’ effective date and the defendant 
was sentenced after the amendments’ effective date.  Id. at *8. The court, rejecting the 
view that the value of the stolen property is an essential element of the offense, concluded 
that the Criminal Savings Statute is applicable to the amendments to the theft grading 
statute:

After our thorough review, we are persuaded that the Criminal 
Savings Statute does apply to the amended theft grading statute.  We 
remain particularly unconvinced that the value of the stolen property was 
intended to be an essential element of the offense of theft.  This Court has 
made clear that value is a jury question.  See State v. Hamm, 611 S.W.2d 
826, 828-29 (Tenn. 1981) (“In determining the value of stolen property . . . 
, the trier of fact is to determine the fair cash market value of the stolen 
property at the time and place of the theft . . . .”).  Still, it does not 
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necessarily follow that value is an essential element.  As noted above, the 
fair market value of the stolen property is a question determined by the jury 
after the defendant is found guilty of theft beyond a reasonable doubt.  It is 
a separate determination made after a defendant’s guilt has been established 
and pursuant to a different statute.  Moreover, the inability to ascertain the 
stolen property’s value is not fatal to the State’s charge against the 
defendant.  See Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-11-106(36)(C) (2014) (“If property 
or service has value that cannot be ascertained . . . , the property or service 
is deemed to have a value of less than fifty dollars ($50.00)[.]”).  We, 
therefore, agree with the Keese panel of the Court of Criminal Appeals that 
the value of the stolen property is not an essential element of the offense of 
theft.

Id. at *11 (footnote omitted) (emphasis added).  

The court next concluded that the amendments to the theft grading statute 
effectively decreased the punishment for some crimes:  

While we cannot fully agree with the defendant’s argument that the 
theft grading statute is a sentencing statute, we also cannot ignore the direct 
impact that the theft grading statute has on punishment.  Under the subject 
statute, the stolen property’s value is used to determine the corresponding 
offense class, and then, under section 40-35-111, the offense class is used 
to determine an authorized sentence.  So, by raising the value ranges 
associated with each offense class—e.g., from $500 or less for Class A 
misdemeanor theft to $1,000 or less—the legislature reduced the 
punishment for the crime. See also Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-14-105, 
Sentencing Comm’n Cmts. (“This section provides the punishment for the 
offenses of theft.  These offenses are punished according to the value of the 
property or services obtained.”); Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-14-408(c)(2) (The 
statute criminalizing vandalism provides that the offense “shall be punished 
as for theft under § 39-14-105 . . . .”).

Id. at *13 (footnote omitted).  The court explained that “because the amendments at issue 
clearly provide for a ‘lesser penalty’ than the previous version of the theft grading statute, 
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. . . the condition provided in the Criminal Savings Statute is satisfied[,] and . . . the 
amended version of the theft grading statute is applicable even where, as here, the offense 
occurred before the amendment’s effective date.”  Id. (footnote omitted).  The court then
held that the Defendant’s crime constituted a Class A misdemeanor and that the trial 
court’s imposition of a sentence of eleven months and twenty-nine days for this offense
was proper.  Id.       

Here, the amended version of the theft grading statute provides for a “lesser 
penalty” for the Defendant’s theft conviction than the prior version of the statute; 
accordingly, the condition provided in the Criminal Savings Statute is satisfied, and the 
amended theft grading statute is applicable, even though the Defendant committed the 
theft offense before the effective date of the amended version of the statute.  In light of 
the Tennessee Supreme Court’s opinion in State v. Menke, we conclude that the trial 
court properly applied the Criminal Savings Statute and properly imposed a sentence of 
eleven months and twenty-nine days for this conviction.  However, because the 
Defendant’s crime constitutes a Class A misdemeanor, rather than a Class E felony as 
reflected in the judgment form, we remand the case to the trial court for entry of a 
corrected judgment reflecting that the Defendant’s amended offense and conviction 
offense are theft of property valued at $1,000 or less and that the Defendant’s conviction 
is a Class A misdemeanor.  

CONCLUSION

Upon reconsideration of this case in light of the Tennessee Supreme Court’s 
decision in State v. Menke, we affirm the trial court’s imposition of a sentence of eleven
months and twenty-nine days for the Defendant’s theft conviction, we reverse the portion 
of the judgment stating that this theft conviction is a Class E felony, and we remand the 
case to the trial court for entry of a corrected judgment form reflecting that the 
Defendant’s amended offense and conviction offense are theft of property valued at 
$1,000 or less and that this theft conviction constitutes a Class A misdemeanor.      

____________________________________
     CAMILLE R. MCMULLEN, JUDGE


