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OPINION

On August 8, 2012, the defendant pleaded guilty to one count of theft of 
property valued at more than $500 but less than $1,000 and one count of theft of property 
valued at $500 or less.  In keeping with the defendant’s plea agreement with the State, the 
trial court imposed concurrent sentences of two years and 11 months and 29 days, 
respectively, to be served in the Tennessee Department of Correction (“TDOC”).  The 
trial court also applied 61 days’ pretrial jail credit.1  On December 22, 2012, TDOC 
placed the defendant on determinate release, see T.C.A. § 40-35-501(a)(3) (2006) 
(“Notwithstanding any other provision of law, inmates with felony sentences of two (2) 
years or less shall have the remainder of their original sentence suspended upon reaching 
their release eligibility date.”), with a probation expiration date of May 9, 2014.2

A probation violation warrant issued on June 7, 2013, alleging that the 
defendant had violated the terms of his release by failing to inform his probation officer 
before changing his address, failing to allow a home visit by his probation officer, failing 
to report as required, and failing to pay probation supervision fees in an amount of $225.  
According to the defendant, he was taken into custody by the South Carolina Department 
of Corrections (“SCDC”) on May 7, 2014, and remained in SCDC custody until 
December 23, 2016, when he returned to Jefferson County, Tennessee, pursuant to a 
detainer warrant to answer charges of burglary and theft, both Class D felonies.  The 
defendant pleaded guilty to the Jefferson County charges in exchange for a three-year 
sentence, and the Jefferson County Criminal Court granted the defendant credit for the 
time he served in SCDC.

Following the entry of his pleas in Jefferson County, the defendant was 
transferred to Knox County to answer the violation warrant in this case.  The defendant 
moved to dismiss the warrant arguing that the State’s failure to prosecute the warrant 
while he was incarcerated in SCDC violated his right to a speedy trial and deprived him 
of the opportunity to earn credit against the sentence in this case while serving his SCDC 
sentence.  The defendant also asked that, because the legislature amended Code section 
39-14-105, the theft grading statute, effective January 1, 2017, the trial court should 
reduce the conviction class of his conviction of theft of property valued at more than 
$500 but less than $1,000 from a Class E felony to a Class A misdemeanor as provided 
by amended Code section 39-14-105.  The defendant argued that the terms of Code 
section 39-11-112 entitled him to the more lenient penalty provided by the amendment.  

                                                  
1 The defendant received credit for the periods between June 6, 2012, and June 15, 2012, and 
between June 16, 2012, and August 7, 2012.

2 The order placing the defendant on determinate release is not included in the record on appeal.  
We glean these facts from the probation revocation order.
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The defendant also asked the trial court to grant him credit for the time he was 
incarcerated in SCDC.

The State opposed the defendant’s motion, arguing that no speedy trial 
violation had occurred and that the defendant was entitled to neither the more lenient 
sentence provided by amended Code section 39-14-105 nor credit for the time he spent 
incarcerated in SCDC.

At the February 23, 2017 revocation hearing, the defendant acknowledged 
that he violated the terms of his probationary sentence but argued that the warrant should 
be dismissed because the State failed to timely prosecute in violation of his constitutional 
right to a speedy trial.  The defendant also argued that, should the trial court deny the 
motion to dismiss, he should be “resentence[d] . . . consistent with the change in law with 
theft offenses.”  The defendant asserted that the trial court had the authority to resentence 
the defendant under the terms of Tennessee Rule of Criminal Procedure 35 “which allows 
the reduction of a sentence . . . within 120 days after . . . probation is revoked which is 
what we have here.”  Arguing that Code section 39-11-112, the criminal savings statute,
entitled him to the more lenient sentence, the defendant asked that his conviction offense 
of theft of property valued at more than $500 but less than $1,000 be reclassified as a 
Class A misdemeanor consistent with amended Code section 39-14-105.

The State argued that no speedy trial violation had occurred because it was 
the defendant’s action in acquiring criminal convictions in another state that caused the 
delay in this case.  The State asserted that the defendant was not entitled to resentencing 
consistent with the new theft grading statute because Code section 39-11-112 had no 
application following a probation revocation.

The trial court rejected the defendant’s speedy trial claim on grounds that 
“there cannot be a violation of speedy trial right because there’s no trial pending.”  The 
trial court also found that the State of Tennessee was under no obligation “to leap into 
action simply because [the defendant] commits crimes in other states and picks up other 
sentences.” The trial court found that the defendant violated the terms of his probation 
“by picking up the crimes in another state and by being convicted and serving his 
sentence.”3  The court denied the defendant’s request for credit for time served in SCDC 
toward the sentence in this case.  With regard to the defendant’s request for a sentence 
reduction, the trial court found:

                                                  
3 These were not the grounds alleged in the violation warrant.  Because the defendant did not 
object to the use of a basis for revocation that might be construed as beyond the notice given, and because
he presented no lack-of-notice argument to the trial court or on appeal to this court, he has waived any 
claim that he received no notice of the grounds for revocation.  Stamps v. State, 614 S.W.2d 71, 73 (Tenn.
Crim. App. 1980).
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The Court is under no obligation to resentence him and 
would be well within its rights to simply impose the original 
sentence [of] two years and remand him.  However, it is true 
that our legislature has in more recent times decided that the 
proper penalty for this offense would be 11 months, 29 days.

So in the spirit of complying with the wishes of the 
legislature, the contemporary . . . legislature, this Court will 
resentence him to 11 months and 29 days in the custody of 
the Knox County Sheriff’s Department and a service rate of 
75 percent.  The Court orders that he receive credit for the 
time he served in the Tennessee jail, Knox County jails on 
these offenses.

The trial court reiterated its holdings in a written order. 4

The State appealed “pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 40-35-402” the trial 
court’s decision to resentence the defendant under the amended version of Code section 
39-14-105.  The defendant did not appeal.

I.  Jurisdiction

As in any other appeal before this court, our first concern is whether this 
court is authorized to hear the case. The State initiated the appeal in this case by filing a 
notice of appeal “pursuant to Code section 40-35-402.”  That statute provides the State
the right to appeal certain sentencing decisions of the trial court “within the same time 
and in the same manner as other appeals in criminal cases”:

(a) The district attorney general in a criminal case may appeal 
from the length, range or manner of the service of the 
sentence imposed by the sentencing court. The district 
attorney general may also appeal the imposition of concurrent 
sentences.  In addition, the district attorney general may also 
appeal the amount of fines and restitution imposed by the 
sentencing court.  An appeal pursuant to this section shall be 
taken within the same time and in the same manner as other 
appeals in criminal cases.  The right of the appeal of the state 

                                                  
4 The record does not indicate whether the trial court entered an amended judgment form reflecting 
the modified class of the conviction offense and the corresponding sentence of 11 months and 29 days.
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is independent of the defendant’s right of appeal.

(b) An appeal from a sentence is limited to one (1) or more of 
the following conditions:

(1) The court improperly sentenced the defendant to the 
wrong sentence range;
(2) The court granted all or part of the sentence on probation;
(3) The court ordered all or part of the sentences to run 
concurrently;
(4) The court improperly found the defendant to be an 
especially mitigated offender;
(5) The court failed to impose the fines recommended by the 
jury;
(6) The court failed to order the defendant to make reasonable 
restitution; or
(7) The sentence is inconsistent with the purposes or 
considerations of sentencing set out in §§ 40-35-102 and 40-
35-103.

§ 40-35-402(a)-(b).

“When a statute affords a state or the United States the right to an appeal in 
a criminal proceeding, the statute will be strictly construed to apply only to the 
circumstances defined in the statute.”  State v. Meeks, 262 S.W.3d 710, 718 (Tenn. 2008) 
(citing Carroll v. United States, 354 U.S. 394, 400 (1957); State v. Adler, 92 S.W.3d 397, 
400 (Tenn. 2002)).  As our supreme court explained, at common law the State had no 
right to appeal in a criminal case under any circumstances.  Meeks, 262 S.W.3d at 718.  
Later, many state legislatures and Congress granted to the prosecution limited rights of 
appeal via specific constitutional or statutory provisions.  See United States v. Sanges, 
144 U.S. 310, 312 (1892) (“[T]he State has no right to sue out a writ of error upon a 
judgment in favor of the defendant in a criminal case, except under and in accordance 
with express statutes, whether that judgment was rendered upon a verdict of acquittal, or 
upon the determination by the court of a question of law.”); see also United States v. 
Martin Linen Supply Co., 430 U.S. 564, 568 (1977); United States v. Wilson, 420 U.S. 
332, 336 (1975).  Even where the right of appeal was granted to the prosecution, courts 
continued to emphasize that such provisions must be construed or applied narrowly to 
avoid a general grant of jurisdiction for state appeals.  Meeks 262 S.W.3d at 718; see also 
Arizona v. Manypenny, 451 U.S. 232, 246 (1981); State v. Reynolds, 5 Tenn. 110, 111 
(Tenn. 1817) (“It is our duty as faithful expositors of the law, to preserve it from all 
encroachment by implication or construction, for in so doing we guard the honor and the 
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peace of our countrymen.”).  Indeed, “‘appeals by the Government in criminal cases are 
something unusual, exceptional, not favored,’ at least in part because they always 
threaten to offend the policies behind the double-jeopardy prohibition.”  Will v. United 
States, 389 U.S. 90, 96 (1967) (quoting Carroll, 354 U.S. at 400).  “Both prudential and 
constitutional interests contributed to this tradition.  The need to restrict appeals by the 
prosecutor reflected a prudential concern that individuals should be free from the 
harassment and vexation of unbounded litigation by the sovereign.”  Manypenny, 451 
U.S. at 245.  When construing the right of the State to appeal in a criminal case, 
reviewing courts must do so with an understanding that the granting authority, the 
legislature, “clearly contemplated . . . that [the prosecution] would be completely unable 
to secure review of some orders having a substantial effect on its ability to secure 
criminal convictions.”  Will, 389 U.S. at 98 n.5.

With these considerations in mind, we turn to the question whether any 
portion of the State’s appeal in this case fits any of the bases for appeal enunciated in 
Code section 40-35-402.

The State argues that the trial court’s erroneous application of amended 
Code section 39-14-105 caused the court to impose a sentence within the wrong 
sentencing range, thus giving rise to an appeal as of right under Code section 40-35-
402(b)(1).  The State’s reliance on Code section 40-35-402(b)(1), however, is inapt.  The 
amendment to Code section 39-14-105 altered only the relationship between the value of 
property taken during a theft and the class of the resulting offense.  The amendment did 
not alter the law setting sentencing ranges.  Sentencing range and offense class are not the 
same thing.  Both offenses, see T.C.A. § 40-35-110, and offenders, see id. § 40-35-105 to 
-109, are classified by the legislature, and the Code then provides a corresponding range 
of punishment for each combination of offense and offender class.  See id. § 40-35-112.  
“[W]hen interpreting statutes,” this court follows “the Latin maxim of expressio unius est 
exclusio alterius, meaning ‘the expression of one thing implies the exclusion of all things 
not mentioned.’” Adler, 92 S.W.3d at 400 (quoting Limbaugh v. Coffee Med. Center, 59 
S.W.3d 73, 84 (Tenn. 2001)).  The question in this case is not the appropriate range
classification but whether the defendant’s conviction of theft of property valued at more 
than $500 but less than $1,000 should be classified as a Class E felony, pursuant to the 
law in effect at the time of the crime, or a Class A misdemeanor, pursuant to amended 
Code section 39-14-105.  Because Code section 40-35-402 does not provide the State the 
right to appeal the offense classification, the trial court’s resolution of this question, 
regardless whether it was correct, does not avail the State of a statutory right to appeal 
under the terms of Code section 40-35-402.  Construing this statutory grant of a State 
appeal narrowly, as we are compelled to do, we conclude that Code section 40-35-402 
does not provide the State the right to appeal the trial court’s decision in this case.
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Similarly, Rule 3 of the Tennessee Rules of Appellate Procedure provides a 
right of appeal to the State in limited circumstances:

In criminal actions an appeal as of right by the [S]tate lies 
only from an order or judgment entered by a trial court from 
which an appeal lies to the Supreme Court or Court of 
Criminal Appeals: (1) the substantive effect of which results 
in dismissing an indictment, information, or complaint; (2) 
setting aside a verdict of guilty and entering a judgment of 
acquittal; (3) arresting judgment; (4) granting or refusing to 
revoke probation; or (5) remanding a child to the juvenile 
court. The [S]tate may also appeal as of right from a final 
judgment in a habeas corpus, extradition, or post-conviction 
proceeding.

Tenn. R. App. P. 3(c).  The trial court’s ruling in this case did not have “the substantive 
effect of . . . dismissing an indictment, information, or complaint,” did not set aside the 
verdict of the jury, did not arrest the judgment, and did not “remand[] a child to the 
juvenile court.”  Rule 3(c) does permit the State to appeal the trial court’s order “granting 
or refusing to revoke probation,” but the grant or refusal to revoke probation is not the 
subject of the State’s appeal in this case.  Tennessee Rule of Appellate Procedure 3(c)
does not provide the State an appeal as of right from the decision to revoke probation.  
Additionally, this case does not arise from “a final judgment in a habeas corpus, 
extradition, or post-conviction proceeding.”  Because the State’s claim on appeal does not 
fit any of the categories provided in Rule 3(c), the State has no stand-alone appeal as of 
right pursuant to Tennessee Rule of Appellate Procedure 3.

During the revocation hearing, the defendant argued that Tennessee Rule of
Criminal Procedure 35 granted the trial court authority to reduce his sentence following 
the revocation of his probation.  That rule provides:

(a) Timing of Motion. The trial court may reduce a sentence 
upon motion filed within 120 days after the date the sentence 
is imposed or probation is revoked. No extensions shall be 
allowed on the time limitation. No other actions toll the 
running of this time limitation.

(b) Limits of Sentence Modification. The court may reduce a 
sentence only to one the court could have originally imposed.

(c) Hearing Unnecessary. The trial court may deny a motion 
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for reduction of sentence under this rule without a hearing.

(d) Appeal. The defendant may appeal the denial of a motion 
for reduction of sentence but shall not be entitled to release on 
bond unless already under bond. If the court modifies the 
sentence, the state may appeal as otherwise provided by law.

Tenn. R. Crim. P. 35.  Although the trial court reduced the defendant’s sentence, the 
record does not clearly establish that the court did so under the color of authority granted 
by Rule 35.  Indeed, the State argues that Rule 35 has no application because the 
defendant did not file a written motion for relief under Rule 35.5  Moreover, although 
Rule 35 does permit the trial court to reduce the defendant’s sentence within 120 days of 
a probation revocation, the rule limits the sentence reduction “to one the court could have 
originally imposed.”  Tenn. R. Crim. P. 35(b); see also Tenn. R. Crim. P. 35, Advisory 
Comm’n Comm’t. (“The modification permitted by this rule is any modification 
otherwise permitted by the law when the judge originally imposed sentence including but 
not limited to a transfer to the workhouse or probation to otherwise eligible defendants.
If there is a modification, the [S]tate may appeal.”).  In this way, any “action of the trial 
court on the Rule 35 motion relates back to the date of sentencing . . . so as to require any
modification to comply with the law existing as of that date.”  State v. Bilbrey, 816 
S.W.2d 71, 76 (Tenn. Crim. App. 1991).

When the defendant was originally sentenced in 2012, theft of property 
valued at more than $500 but less than $1,000 was a Class E felony punishable by a 
sentence of no less than one nor more than two years.  See T.C.A. § 39-14-105 (2012); id.
§ 40-35-112 (“A Range I sentence is [f]or a Class E felony, not less than one (1) nor 
more than two (2) years.”).  Because Rule 35 provided the trial court no authority to 
change the conviction class of the offense or to reduce the defendant’s sentence to a term 
less than that available at the time of the original sentencing in this case and especially
because the record does not clearly establish that the trial court was acting under the color 
of the authority granted by Rule 35, we will not consider the appeal in this case as an 
appeal provided by that rule.

This court may, under certain circumstances, treat an improperly filed 
appeal as an extraordinary appeal pursuant to Rule 10 of the Tennessee Rules of 
Appellate Procedure.  See State v. Norris, 47 S.W.3d 457, 463 (Tenn. Crim. App. 2000); 
State v. Leath, 977 S.W.2d 132, 135 (Tenn. Crim. App. 1998).  Rule 10 provides:

                                                  
5 Although we need not decide in this case whether Rule 35 requires the filing of a written motion, 
we have no doubt that filing a written motion is the best practice, particularly given the strict time 
limitation in Rule 35.
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An extraordinary appeal may be sought on application and in 
the discretion of the appellate court alone of interlocutory 
orders of a lower court from which an appeal lies to the 
Supreme Court, Court of Appeals or Court of Criminal 
Appeals: (1) if the lower court has so far departed from the 
accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings as to 
require immediate review, or (2) if necessary for complete 
determination of the action on appeal as otherwise provided 
in these rules. The appellate court may issue whatever order is 
necessary to implement review under this rule.

Tenn. R. App. P. 10(a).  Before this court will grant an extraordinary appeal, however, 
the appellant must establish that: (a) “the ruling of the court below represents a 
fundamental illegality,” (b) “the ruling constitutes a failure to proceed according to the 
essential requirements of the law,” (c) “the ruling is tantamount to the denial of either 
party of a day in court,” (d) “the action of the trial judge was without legal authority,” (e) 
“the action of the trial judge constituted a plain and palpable abuse of discretion,” or (f) 
“either party has lost a right or interest that may never be recaptured.”  State v. 
Willoughby, 594 S.W.2d 388, 392 (Tenn. 1980) (finding that the principles required for 
the common law writ of certiorari are applicable to applications for extraordinary appeal 
under Rule 10).  Application of Rule 10 in this case is inappropriate, however, because 
the State appeals from the final judgment of the trial court.  The plain language of Rule 
10 limits its application to the “interlocutory orders” of the trial court.

Where there is no statutory or rule-based appeal as of right, this court may
treat the State’s improperly filed appeal as of right as a petition for the common-law writ 
of certiorari.  “The common-law writ of certiorari is ‘of ancient origin and has been 
characterized as extraordinary, remedial, revisory, supervisory, and prerogative.’”  State 
v. Lane, 254 S.W.3d 349, 354 (Tenn. 2008) (quoting State v. Johnson, 569 S.W.2d 808, 
812 (Tenn. 1978); Tenn. Cent. R.R. v. Campbell, 75 S.W. 1012 (Tenn. 1903)). “A writ of 
certiorari is an order from a superior court to an inferior tribunal to send up a complete 
record for review, so that the reviewing court can ascertain whether the inferior tribunal 
has exceeded its jurisdiction or acted illegally, fraudulently, or arbitrarily.” Lane, 254 
S.W.3d at 354 (citations omitted).  An extremely limited avenue of relief, the writ of 
certiorari is available “to correct ‘(1) fundamentally illegal rulings; (2) proceedings 
inconsistent with essential legal requirements; (3) proceedings that effectively deny a 
party his or her day in court; (4) decisions beyond the lower tribunal’s authority; and (5) 
plain and palpable abuses of discretion.’”  Lane, 254 S.W.3d at 355 (quoting Willis v. 
Tenn. Dep’t Corr., 113 S.W.3d 706, 712 (Tenn. 2002)).  The writ may also lie “‘[w]here 
either party has lost a right or interest that may never be recaptured.’”  Id. (quoting 
Johnson, 569 S.W.2d at 815)).  “[R]eviewing courts should not grant a petition for a 
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common-law writ of certiorari to ‘(1) inquire into the intrinsic correctness of the lower 
tribunal’s decision, (2) reweigh the evidence, or (3) substitute their judgment for that of 
the lower tribunal.’” Lane, 254 S.W.3d at 355 (quoting Robinson v. Clement, 65 S.W.3d 
632, 635 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2001) (internal citations omitted)).

A statutory provision for review by the writ of certiorari is codified at 
Tennessee Code Annotated section 27-8-101:

The writ of certiorari may be granted whenever authorized by 
law, and also in all cases where an inferior tribunal, board, or 
officer exercising judicial functions has exceeded the 
jurisdiction conferred, or is acting illegally, when, in the 
judgment of the court, there is no other plain, speedy, or 
adequate remedy. This section does not apply to actions 
governed by the Tennessee Rules of Appellate Procedure.

T.C.A. § 27-8-101.  Although a provision for a writ of certiorari has been codified, our 
case law is clear that “[t]he writ of certiorari does not owe its existence to constitutional 
provision or statutory enactment.  It is a common-law writ, of ancient origin, and one of 
the most valuable and efficient remedies which come to us with that admirable system of 
jurisprudence.”  Tenn. Cent. R.R., 75 S.W. at 1012; see also State v. L.W., 350 S.W.3d 
911, 915 (Tenn. 2011). “The inclusion of a provision in our original constitution for 
writs of certiorari, Tenn. Const. art. VI, §§ 6-7 (1796), was to guarantee the availability 
of the writ in civil cases, as opposed to the previously exclusive use of the writ in 
criminal cases.”  L.W., 350 S.W.3d at 915 (citing Tenn. Cent. R.R., 75 S.W. at 1012-13).  
Thus, the procedural requirements for filing a petition for writ of certiorari in a civil case 
are inapplicable “on petitions for writs of certiorari in criminal cases.”  L.W., 350 S.W.3d 
at 916.

In this case, the trial court’s ruling is not fundamentally illegal and does not 
amount to a “plain and palpable” abuse of the court’s discretion.  Additionally, because 
the trial court held a hearing on the issue at which both parties were allowed to fully 
participate, the proceedings were not “inconsistent with essential legal requirements” and 
did not deny either party a “day in court,” and neither party “lost a right or interest that 
may never be recaptured”.  Because the trial court’s application of amended Code section 
39-14-105 to the defendant’s case and the resulting modification of the defendant’s 
sentence exceeded the court’s authority, as will be discussed more fully below, we have 
elected to treat the State’s improperly-filed appeal as of right as a petition for the 
common law writ of certiorari.
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II.  Applicability of Amended Code section 39-14-105

The State contends that the trial court erred by concluding that Code section 
39-11-112 entitled the defendant to the lesser sentence provided for by the 2016 
amendment to Code section 39-14-105 because the amendment was not a sentencing
provision and because, in any event, nothing authorized the trial court to resentence the 
defendant following the revocation of his probation.  The defendant asserts that the trial 
court did not err.

Because our determination of the propriety of the trial court’s ruling
depends upon our interpretation of the various statutes and rules at play, our review is de 
novo with no presumption of correctness afforded to the ruling of the trial court. See, 
e.g., State v. Howard, 504 S.W.3d 260, 267 (Tenn. 2016).

The most basic principle of statutory construction is “‘to ascertain and give 
effect to the legislative intent without unduly restricting or expanding a statute’s coverage 
beyond its intended scope.’” Houghton v. Aramark Educ. Res., Inc., 90 S.W.3d 676, 678 
(Tenn. 2002) (quoting Owens v. State, 908 S.W.2d 923, 926 (Tenn. 1995)). “Legislative 
intent is determined ‘from the natural and ordinary meaning of the statutory language 
within the context of the entire statute without any forced or subtle construction that 
would extend or limit the statute’s meaning.’” Osborn v. Marr, 127 S.W.3d 737, 740 
(Tenn. 2004) (quoting State v. Flemming, 19 S.W.3d 195, 197 (Tenn. 2000)). “When the 
statutory language is clear and unambiguous, we apply the plain language in its normal 
and accepted use.” Boarman v. Jaynes, 109 S.W.3d 286, 291 (Tenn. 2003) (citing State 
v. Nelson, 23 S.W.3d 270, 271 (Tenn. 2000)). “It is only when a statute is ambiguous 
that we may reference the broader statutory scheme, the history of the legislation, or other 
sources.” In re Estate of Davis, 308 S.W.3d 832, 837 (Tenn. 2010) (citing Parks v. Tenn. 
Mun. League Risk Mgmt. Pool, 974 S.W.2d 677, 679 (Tenn. 1998)).

On April 27, 2016, the governor signed into law a bill designated by the 
legislature as the Public Safety Act of 2016 (“the Act”).  The Act amends the law for the 
issuance of orders of protection; alters the penalty for a third or subsequent conviction of 
domestic assault; adds “the results of an offender’s validated risk and needs assessment” 
to the list of factors that the trial court must consider during sentencing; adds a new 
category of offenses that come with an 85 percent release eligibility percentage; adds a 
new section to Title 40, Chapter 28 that creates a graduated system of sanctions for 
violating a sentence involving release into the community; and amends Code section 39-
14-105 by modifying the grading of theft offenses.  2016 Pub. Acts, c. 906.  As is 
relevant to this case, the Act provides:
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Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 39-14-105(a), is 
amended by deleting the subsection in its entirety and 
substituting instead the following language:

(a) Theft of property or services is:

(1) A Class A misdemeanor if the value of the property or 
services obtained is one thousand dollars ($1,000) or less;

(2) A Class E felony if the value of the property or services 
obtained is more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) but less 
than two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500);

(3) A Class D felony if the value of the property or services 
obtained is two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) or 
more but less than ten thousand dollars ($10,000);

(4) A Class C felony if the value of the property or services 
obtained is ten thousand dollars ($10,000) or more but less 
than sixty thousand dollars ($60,000);

(5) A Class B felony if the value of the property or services 
obtained is sixty thousand dollars ($60,000) or more but less 
than two hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000); and

(6) A Class A felony if the value of the property or services 
obtained is two hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000) or 
more.

2016 Pub. Acts, c. 906, § 5.  The Act provides two different effective dates:

For the purpose of promulgating rules, policies, forms, and 
procedures and making necessary provisions for the
implementation of this act, this act shall take effect upon 
becoming a law, the public welfare requiring it. For all other 
purposes, this act shall take effect January 1, 2017, the public 
welfare requiring it.

Id., § 17.  Because the amendment to Code section 39-14-105 does not affect the 
“promulgating [of] rules, policies, forms, and procedures and making necessary 
provisions for the implementation of this act,” the January 1, 2017 effective date applies.
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“Generally, a criminal offender must be sentenced pursuant to the statute in 
effect at the time of the offense.”  State v. Smith, 893 S.W.2d 908, 919 (Tenn. 1994) 
(citing State v. Reed, 689 S.W.2d 190, 196 (Tenn. Crim. App. 1984); 24 C.J.S. Criminal 
Law, § 1462 (1989)).  Code section 39-11-112, however, provides an exception to this 
general rule:

When a penal statute or penal legislative act of the state is 
repealed or amended by a subsequent legislative act, the 
offense, as defined by the statute or act being repealed or 
amended, committed while the statute or act was in full force 
and effect shall be prosecuted under the act or statute in effect 
at the time of the commission of the offense.  Except as 
provided under § 40-35-117, in the event the subsequent act 
provides for a lesser penalty, any punishment imposed shall 
be in accordance with the subsequent act.

T.C.A. § 39-11-112 (emphasis added).  As our supreme court has explained, “the general 
provisions of § 39-11-112 and the principles against retroactive application of statutes 
mandate that an offense committed under a repealed or amended law shall be prosecuted 
under that law, unless the new law provides for a lesser penalty.”  State v. Cauthern, 967 
S.W.2d 726, 747 (Tenn. 1998) (citing Smith, 893 S.W.2d at 919; State v. Brimmer, 876 
S.W.2d 75, 82 (Tenn. 1994)).

Against this backdrop, we must determine whether the exception embodied 
in Code section 39-11-112 applies to amended Code section 39-14-105 and whether, if it 
does apply, Code section 39-11-112 entitles the defendant to the lesser sentence provided 
by the statutory amendment even though the sentence modification in this case came 
about following the revocation of the defendant’s probation.

The State first argues that the exception in Code section 39-11-112 has no 
application in this case because Code section 39-14-105, in any form, is not a sentencing 
statute.  We disagree.  Code section 39-14-105 “provides the punishment for the offenses 
of theft.  These offenses are punished according to the value of the property or services 
obtained.”  T.C.A. § 39-14-105, Sentencing Comm’n Comm’t (emphasis added).  In 
1989, the legislature replaced the common law offenses of “embezzlement, false 
pretense, fraudulent conversion, larceny, receiving or concealing stolen property, and 
other similar offenses,” id. § 39-14-101, into a “new generic offense of theft,” id. § 39-
14-101, Sentencing Comm’n Comm’t; see also id. § 39-14-101 (“Conduct denominated 
as theft in this part constitutes a single offense . . . .”).  Code section 39-14-103 provides 
the elements of the generic theft offense:  “A person commits theft of property if, with 
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intent to deprive the owner of property, the person knowingly obtains or exercises control 
over the property without the owner’s effective consent.”  Id. § 39-14-103(a).  Property is 
defined as “anything of value, including, but not limited to, money, real estate, tangible 
or intangible personal property, including anything severed from land, library material, 
contract rights, choses-in-action, interests in or claims to wealth, credit, admission or 
transportation tickets, captured or domestic animals, food and drink, electric or other 
power.”  Id. § 39-11-106.  In most theft cases,

“Value”:

(A) Subject to the additional criteria of subdivisions 
(a)(36)(B)-(D), “value” under this title means:

(i) The fair market value of the property or service at the 
time and place of the offense; or

(ii) If the fair market value of the property cannot be 
ascertained, the cost of replacing the property within a 
reasonable time after the offense;

. . . .

(C) If property or service has value that cannot be ascertained 
by the criteria set forth in subdivisions (a)(36)(A) and (B), the 
property or service is deemed to have a value of less than fifty 
dollars ($50.00);

Id. § 39-11-106(36)(A),(C).  By applying these statutes, we see that so long as the State 
establishes that the defendant deprived the owner of “property,” it will necessarily have 
established that the defendant took a thing of value and vice versa. “Nothing in [Code 
section] 39-14-103 which defines the offense of theft requires the [S]tate to prove the 
specific value of the property taken. Rather, the [S]tate merely has to introduce evidence 
from which a jury could conclude that the property has some value.” State v. Hill, 856 
S.W.2d 155, 156 (Tenn. Crim. App. 1993) (Baldwin v. State, 33 Tenn. (1 Sneed) 411 
(1853)); see also State v. Charles Cox, No. W2010-00129-CCA-R3-CD, slip op. at 5
(Tenn. Crim. App., Jackson, Dec. 13, 2010) (“While the [S]tate did not present evidence 
regarding the value of the items, the jury was free to infer that the items had some value, 
which is sufficient to sustain the misdemeanor theft of property conviction.”).

When the State establishes a specific value for the property taken, Code 
section 39-14-105 supplies a penalty to be imposed that is commensurate with the value 



-15-

as established by the evidence.  When the State fails, or elects not, to present proof of 
specific value, the Code provides a default value of less than $50. Consequently, the 
specific value of the property taken is not an element of the generic theft offense.6

Because Code section 39-14-105 provides the penalty for theft based upon 
the value of the property taken, any amendment to that statute that lessens the penalty 
falls squarely within the “exception” to Code section 39-11-112.  The amendment at issue 
in this case does exactly that.  As is applicable in this case, the amendment provides that 
the theft of property valued at more than $500 but less than $1,000, the value as alleged 
by the State, is now a Class A misdemeanor rather than a Class E felony.  Clearly, the 
new act provides for a lesser penalty than the previous act.

Having determined that Code section 39-11-112 is generally applicable to 
amended Code section 39-14-105, we must next determine whether the Act can be 
applied in the defendant’s case even though he was resentenced following the revocation 
of his probation.  The State argues that it cannot.  The defendant, of course, contends that 
it can.  We agree with the State.

Unlike the “revocation of a community corrections sentence,” when “the 
trial court exercises the same discretion in resentencing as did the initial sentencing 
court,” Carpenter v. State, 136 S.W.3d 608, 612 (Tenn. 2004) (citing T.C.A. § 40-36-
106(e)(2), (e)(4) (2003)), the options of the trial court are limited following the 
revocation of probation.  See State v. Bowling, 958 S.W.2d 362, 363 (Tenn. Crim. App. 
1997).  Upon revoking a sentence of probation, “a trial court can: (1) order incarceration; 
(2) cause execution of the judgment as it was originally entered; or (3) extend the 
remaining probationary period for a period not to exceed two years.”  State v. Hunter, 1 
S.W.3d 643, 648 (Tenn. 1999).  When the trial court revokes a defendant’s probation, any 
action it takes thereafter relates back to the sentence previously imposed.  Code section 
39-11-112 “has never been interpreted to apply to convictions and sentences which were 
already received when a subsequent act or amendment provided for a lesser penalty.”  
State ex rel. Stewart v. McWherter, 857 S.W.2d 875, 877 (Tenn. Crim. App. 1992) (citing 
T.C.A. § 1-3-101; Stinson v. State, 344 S.W.2d 369 (Tenn. 1961)).

                                                  
6 We also observe that the gravamen of the Public Safety Act of 2016 is the amendment of various 
sentencing provisions and that the legislature identifies the subject of HB2576, which became the Public 
Safety Act of 2016, as “sentencing.”  See Tennessee House Journal, 2016 Reg. Sess. No. 33 (“*House 
Bill No. 2576 -- Sentencing - As introduced, enacts the ‘Public Safety Act of 2016.’ - Amends TCA Title 
36, Chapter 3, Part 6; Title 39, Chapter 13, Part 1; Title 39, Chapter 14, Part 1; Title 40, Chapter 28; Title 
40, Chapter 35 and Title 41, Chapter 1, Part 4. by *McCormick, *Brooks K, * Lamberth.”).
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As indicated above, Rule 35 permits the trial court, upon motion of the 
defendant filed within 120 days of the order revoking probation, to modify the 
defendant’s sentence.  Under that rule, however, the trial court “may reduce a sentence 
only to one the court could have originally imposed.”  Tenn. R. Crim. P. 35(b).

No statute or rule, including Code section 39-11-112, permits the trial court 
to alter the class of the conviction offense following the revocation of probation.  
Because the trial court exceeded its authority by doing so in this case, we have elected to 
treat the State’s improperly-filed appeal as of right as a petition for the common law writ 
of certiorari and vacate the order of the trial court modifying the defendant’s conviction 
from a Class E felony with a sentence of two years to a Class A misdemeanor with an 11-
month and 29-day sentence.

Conclusion

Because the trial court erred by applying the amended version of Code 
section 39-14-105 following the revocation of the defendant’s probation, we vacate the 
11-month and 29-day sentence imposed by the trial court and remand the case for 
proceedings consistent with this opinion.

_________________________________ 
JAMES CURWOOD WITT, JR., JUDGE


