
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TENNESSEE 
AT NASHVILLE 

 
IN RE: REVISED RULE 13, Sections 2 and 3 

RULES OF THE TENNESSEE SUPREME COURT 
 

___________________________________ 
 

No. ADM2018-00796 
___________________________________ 

 
 

ORDER 
 

 
By Order filed May 25, 2018, the Court solicited public comment regarding 

proposed amendments to Rule 13, sections 2 and 3 of the Rules of the Tennessee 
Supreme Court.  The Court has received numerous comments from individual members 
of the bar across the State, as well as the Tennessee Bar Association, the Knoxville Bar 
Association, the Marshall County Bar Association, and the Tennessee Association of 
Criminal Defense Lawyers.  The Court has carefully considered the comments received 
and thanks all members of the bar and the various legal associations for the same. 

 
After due consideration, the Court hereby amends Rule 13, sections 2 and 3 of the 

Rules of the Tennessee Supreme Court in the form set out in Appendix A to this Order.  
The Amendments to this Rule shall be effective July 1, 2018. 

 
The Clerk shall provide a copy of this Order to LexisNexis and to Thomson 

Reuters.  In addition, this Order shall be posted on the Tennessee Supreme Court’s 
website.  

 
 
IT IS SO ORDERED.  

 
 
       PER CURIAM 
 

  

06/29/2018
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APPENDIX 
 
Rule 13: Appointment, Qualifications, and Compensation of Counsel for Indigent 
Defendants. 
 
Section 2. Compensation of counsel in non-capital cases. 
(a)(1) Appointed counsel, other than public defenders, shall be entitled to reasonable 
compensation for services rendered as provided in this rule. Reasonable compensation 
shall be determined by the court in which services are rendered, subject to the limitations 
in this rule, which limitations are declared to be reasonable. 
 (2) These limitations apply to compensation for services rendered in each court 
municipal, juvenile, or general sessions; criminal, circuit, or chancery; Court of Appeals 
or Court of Criminal Appeals; Tennessee Supreme Court; and United States Supreme 
Court. 
(b) Co-counsel or associate attorneys in non-capital cases shall not be compensated. 
(c)(1) The hourly rate for appointed counsel in non-capital cases shall not exceed forty 
dollars ($40) per hour for time reasonably spent in trial preparation and fifty dollars ($50) 
per hour for time reasonably spent in court. preparing the case 
 (2) For purposes of this rule, “time reasonably spent in trial preparation” means 
time spent preparing the case to which the attorney has been appointed to represent the 
indigent party. “Time reasonably spent in court” means  and time reasonably spent before 
a judge on the case to which the attorney has been appointed to represent the indigent 
party. 
(d)(1) The maximum compensation allowed shall be determined by the original charge or 
allegations in the case. Except as provided in section 2(e), the compensation allowed 
appointed counsel for services rendered in a non-capital case shall not exceed the 
following amounts: 
(2) Five Hundred Dollars ($500) for: 
 (A) Contempt of court cases where an adult or a juvenile is in jeopardy of 
incarceration; 
 (B) Parole revocation proceedings pursuant to the authority of state and/or federal 
law; 
 (C) Judicial proceedings under Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 33, Chapters 3 
through 8, Mental Health Law; 
 (D) Cases in which a superintendent of a mental health facility files a petition 
under the guardianship law, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 34; 
 (E) Cases under Tennessee Code Annotated section 37-10-304 and Tennessee 
Supreme Court Rule 24, relative to petitions for waiver of parental consent for abortions 
by minors; 
 (F) Cases alleging unruly conduct of a child which place the child in jeopardy of 
being removed from the home pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated Section 37-1-
132(b); 
  

-
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(3) One thousand dollars ($1,000) for: 
 (AB) Cases in which an adult or a juvenile is charged with a misdemeanor and is 
in jeopardy of incarceration; 
 (BC) Direct and interlocutory appeals in the Court of Appeals or Court of 
Criminal Appeals; 
 (CD) Direct and interlocutory appeals in the Tennessee Supreme Court; 
 (DE) Cases in which a defendant is applying for early release from incarceration 
or a suspended sentence; 
 (EF) Non-capital post-conviction and habeas corpus proceedings; 
 (FG) Probation revocation proceedings; 
 (GI) All other non-capital cases in which the indigent party has a statutory or 
constitutional right to be represented by counsel. 
(43) One thousand five hundred dollars ($1,0500) for: 
 (A) Preliminary hearings in general sessions and municipal courts in which an 
adult is charged with a felony; 
 (B) Cases in which a juvenile is charged with a non-capital felony; 
 (B) Cases in which an adult or a juvenile is charged with a misdemeanor and is in 
jeopardy of incarceration; 
 (C) Direct and interlocutory appeals in the Court of Appeals or Court of Criminal 
Appeals; 
 (D) Direct and interlocutory appeals in the Tennessee Supreme Court; 
 (E) Cases in which a defendant is applying for early release from incarceration or 
a suspended sentence; 
 (F) Non-capital post-conviction and habeas corpus proceedings; 
 (G) Probation revocation proceedings; 
 (H) Cases in which a juvenile is charged with a non-capital felony; 
 (I) All other non-capital cases in which the indigent party has a statutory or 
constitutional right to be represented by counsel. 
(45)(A)  Two One thousand, five hundred dollars ($2,0001,500) for cases in trial courts 
in which the defendant is charged with a felony other than first-degree murder or a Class 
A or B felony; 
 (B) Two Three thousand, five hundred dollars ($3,0002,500) for cases in trial 
courts in which the defendant is charged with first-degree murder or a Class A or B 
felony; 
(56) Maximum compensation for juvenile dependency and neglect proceedings and 
termination of parental rights proceedings is as follows: 
 (A) Seven Hundred and Fifty One thousand dollars ($1,000750) for: 
  (i) Dependent or neglected child cases, from the filing of the dependency 
petition through the dispositional hearing, including the preliminary hearing, ratification 
of the initial permanency plan, adjudicatory and dispositional hearings; 
  (ii) Guardian ad litem representation in accordance with section 1(d)(2)(C) 
for a child or sibling group who is or may be the subject of a report of abuse or neglect or 
an investigation report under Tennessee Code Annotated sections 37-1-401 through 37-1-

-

-

-
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411, from the filing of the dependency petition through the dispositional hearing, 
including the preliminary hearing, ratification of the initial permanency plan, 
adjudicatory and dispositional hearings; and 
  (iii) Counsel appointed pursuant to Tennessee Supreme Court Rule 40(e)(2) 
and in accordance with section 1(d)(2)(C) for a child or sibling group who is or may be 
the subject of a report of abuse or neglect or an investigation report under Tennessee 
Code Annotated sections 37-1-401 through 37-1-411, from the filing of the dependency 
petition through the dispositional hearing, including the preliminary hearing, ratification 
of the initial permanency plan, adjudicatory and dispositional hearings; 
 (B) One Thousand, Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($1,2501,000) for: 
  (i) Dependent or neglected child cases, for all post-dispositional 
proceedings, including foster care review board hearings, post-dispositional court reviews 
and permanency hearings; 
  (ii) Guardian ad litem representation in accordance with section 1(d)(2)(C) 
for a child or sibling group who is or may be the subject of a report of abuse or neglect or 
an investigation report under Tennessee Code Annotated Sections 37-1-401 through 37-
1-411, for all post-dispositional proceedings, including foster care review board hearings, 
post-dispositional court reviews, and permanency hearings; and 
  (iii) Counsel appointed pursuant to Tennessee Supreme Court Rule 40(e)(2) 
and in accordance with section 1(d)(2)(D) for a child or sibling group who is or may be 
the subject of a report of abuse or neglect or an investigation report under Tennessee 
Code Annotated sections 37-1-401 through 37-1-411, for all post-dispositional 
proceedings, including foster care review board hearings, post-dispositional court 
reviews, and permanency hearings. 
 (C) One thousand, Two Hundred Fifty dollars ($1,2501000) for: 
  (i) Proceedings against parents in which allegations against the parents 
could result in termination of parental rights; 
  (ii) Guardian ad litem representation in termination of parental rights cases 
in accordance with section 1(d)(2)(D); and 
  (iii) Counsel appointed pursuant to Tennessee Supreme Court Rule 40(e)(2) 
and in accordance with section 1(d)(2)(C) for a child or sibling group in termination of 
parental rights cases; 
 (e)(1) Notwithstanding the provisions of section (2)(d), an amount in excess of the 
maximum, subject to the limitations of section (2)(e)(3), may be sought by filing a 
motion in the court in which representation is provided. The motion shall include specific 
factual allegations demonstrating that the case is complex or extended. The court shall 
enter an order which evidences the action taken on the motion. The following, while 
neither controlling nor exclusive, indicate the character of reasons that may support a 
complex or extended certification: 
 (A) The case involved complex scientific evidence and/or expert testimony; 
 (B) The case involved multiple defendants and/or numerous witnesses; 
 (C) The case involved multiple protracted hearings; 
 (D) The case involved novel and complex legal issues. 
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 (E) If the motion is granted, an order shall be forwarded to the Director of the 
AOC (herein “director”) certifying the case as complex or extended. The order shall 
either recite the specific facts supporting the finding or incorporate by reference and 
attach the motion which includes the specific facts supporting the finding. To qualify for 
payment under this section, the order certifying the claim as extended or complex must 
be signed contemporaneously with the court’s approval of the claim. Nunc pro tunc 
certification orders are not sufficient to support payment under this section. 
(2) All payments under section 2(e)(1) must be submitted to the director for approval. If a 
payment under section 2(e)(1) is not approved by the director, the director shall transmit 
the claim to the chief justice for disposition. The determination of the chief justice shall 
be final. 
(3) Upon approval of the complex or extended claim by the director or the chief justice, 
the following maximum amounts apply: 
 (A) One thousand dollars ($1,000) in those categories of cases where the 
maximum compensation is otherwise five hundred dollars ($500); 
 (B) One thousand, five hundred dollars ($1,500) in those categories of cases where 
the maximum compensation is otherwise seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750); 
 (CB) Except as provided in section (2)(e)(3)(D), two thousand dollars ($2,000) in 
those categories of cases where the maximum compensation is otherwise one thousand 
dollars ($1,000); 
 (C) Two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) in those categories of cases where 
the maximum compensation is otherwise one thousand two hundred fifty dollars 
($1,250). 
 (D) Three Four thousand dollars ($3,000 4,000) in cases in trial courts in which 
the defendant is charged with a felony other than first-degree murder or a Class A or B 
felony; and 
 (E) Five Six thousand dollars ($5,0006,000) in cases in trial courts in which the 
defendant is charged with first-degree murder or a Class A or B felony. Where the felony 
charged is first-degree murder, the director may waive the five thousand dollar 
($5,0006,000) maximum if the order demonstrates that extraordinary circumstances exist 
and failure to waive the maximum would result in undue hardship. 
 
Explanatory Comment:  
Section 2(b) unequivocally provides that only one attorney will be compensated in non-
capital cases. Section 2(c) clarifies that appointed counsel will not be paid in-court rates 
for time spent waiting for a case to be called and that appointed counsel will not be 
compensated for time spent on Board of Professional Responsibility complaints arising 
from appointments. Section 2(d) has been reorganized for simplicity and clarity. 
Compensation rates for counsel appointed in juvenile, dependency and neglect, and 
termination of parental rights cases are now contained in Section 2(d)(46). Section 
2(d)(46) further defines the dispositional and post-dispositional phases at which 
compensation is appropriate and also compensates attorneys appointed pursuant to 
Tennessee Supreme Court Rule 40(e)(2). Section 2(d)(4)(B) increases the maximum 

-
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compensation for appointed counsel in certain post-dispositional proceedings from $500 
to $750. Section 2(e)(1) further delineates the procedure and factors supporting 
certification of a case as complex or extended, including the mandatory requirement that 
the order certifying the claim be submitted to the AOC contemporaneously with the claim 
requesting complex or extended compensation. Section 2(e)(2) reiterates that approval of 
the director or the chief justice is required and that the determination of the chief justice 
is final. Section 6 of this rule sets out in more detail the claims review process. Section 
2(e)(3)(A)-(DC) has been revised to simplify and clarify the language. Section 2(e)(3)(D) 
has been revised to limit waiver of the $34,000 maximum to first-degree murder cases, 
rather than all homicide cases. Section 2(f) precludes compensating attorneys for time 
spent traveling to and from a clerk’s office in another county for the sole purpose of 
hand-delivering or filing documents. 
  

-
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Section 3. Minimum qualifications and compensation of counsel in capital cases.  
 
.    .    . 

 
(j) Appointed counsel in capital cases, other than public defenders, shall be entitled to 
reasonable compensation as determined by the court in which such services are rendered, 
subject to the limitations of this rule, which limitations are declared to be reasonable. 
Compensation shall be limited to the two attorneys actually appointed in the case. 
Appointed counsel in a capital case shall submit claims in accordance with Section 6 of 
this rule. 
(k) Hourly rates for appointed counsel in capital cases shall be as follows: 
 (1) Lead counsel out-of-court--seventy-five dollars ($10075);; 
 (2) Lead counsel in-court--one hundred dollars ($100); 
 (32) Co-counsel out-of-court--sixty dollars ($8060); 
 (4) Co-counsel in-court--eighty dollars ($80); 
 (53) Post-conviction counsel out-of-court--sixty dollars ($8060); 
 (6) Post-conviction counsel in-court--eighty dollars ($80); 
 (74) Counsel appointed pursuant to section 3(i) out-of-court--sixty dollars ($680) ; 
 (8) Counsel appointed pursuant to section 3(i) in-court--eighty dollars ($80). 
(l) For purposes of this rule, the hourly rate includes  "out-of-court” means time 
reasonably spent working on  preparing the case and to which the attorney has been 
appointed to represent the indigent party. “In-court” means time reasonably spent before 
a judge on the case to which the attorney has been appointed to represent the indigent 
party. 
(m) Attorneys shall not be compensated for time associated with traveling to a court in 
another county for the sole purpose of hand-delivering or filing a document. 
 
Explanatory Comment: 

Section 3(a) clarifies that even if a trial court allows two appointed attorneys to 
remain on a case, under Section 3(b)(3), after a notice of intent to seek the death penalty 
is withdrawn, counsel will be compensated at non-capital rates for services rendered after 
the date the notice is withdrawn. Section 3(b)(1) has been revised to require that the 
appointment order must specify lead and co-counsel and that the public defender must 
serve and be designated lead counsel whenever possible. Section 3(b)(2) & (3) previously 
appeared as Section 3(l) of Rule 13. Section 3 now permits former prosecutors and judges 
with appropriate experience to be appointed counsel in capital cases. Section 3(c)(2) has 
been revised to require five years participation in criminal jury trials, rather than three 
years representation of defendants in criminal jury trials. Section 3(c)(3) has been revised 
to enhance the educational requirements for appointed counsel. Section 3(c)(4)(E) has 
been revised to include an experience requirement applicable only to former judges. 
Section 3(i) has been revised to clarify that its scope is limited to affording compensation 
to appointed counsel in a proceeding challenging the inmate’s competency to be 
executed. Section 3(k)(7) & (8) provides that attorneys appointed in competency 

-

-

-
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proceedings will be compensated at the same $60/$80 rates applicable in other capital 
post-conviction proceedings. Section 3(l) clarifies that appointed counsel precludes 
compensating appointed counsel at in-court rates for time spent waiting for a case to be 
called and also precludes compensating appointed counsel will not be compensated for 
time spent defending against a Board of Professional Responsibility action that arises 
from the appointment. Section 3(m) precludes compensating attorneys for time spent 
driving to and from a clerk’s office in another county for 

-


